Shaping the future.

Real-time situational awareness that saves lives

Julia Gonschorek is a geoinformatics specialist and heads the Helmholtz Innovation Lab OPTSAL at the Institute of Optical Sensor Systems in Berlin.

Drones are increasingly occupying the airspace, can be deployed in a flexible manner and are therefore now taking on a wide range of tasks. My response to this development for innovative civil protection and disaster  management. My team and I combine optical technologies with geodata and on-board data processing on unmanned aerial vehicles. Up-to-date and reliable situational awareness enables better coordination of emergency services on the ground.

In our lab, we develop new optical technologies for situational awareness

At the DLR Institute of Optical Sensor Systems in Berlin, I head the Helmholtz Innovation Lab OPTSAL. With the Optical Technologies for Situational Awareness Lab, we have created a space for open research. Here, together with external partners, we develop solutions and bring together the needs of users and industry.

Julia Gonschorek testing under real-life conditions

The common goal is the use of optical technologies to accurately monitor the situation during disasters and peril scenarios, police operations or even major events and to support authorities and emergency forces by precisely assessing the situation. In the broadest sense, the technologies include all kinds of camera systems and operate from space, as ground-based systems or on board a drone. Ideally, they integrate data processing and all systems involved immediately into the workflows.

In the Lab, we provide the necessary infrastructure to further develop the new technologies and to test them while operating under real conditions. In the long term, we plan to establish the lab as a centre of excellence in our research area. To this end, we are currently fully equipping a situation room and a laboratory (Dev-Center) for integrated hardware and software development.

I assess live situations with my team

I can organise my work in the lab flexibly – the hours as well as my tasks. The research topics at our institute are relevant, the potential for development is high, and the interdisciplinarity is impressive. For me, working at DLR is and always will be great because of my colleagues – they are talented and proactive team players.

'Live-Lage' (live situation) is a groundbreaking development project. The idea of developing a system that can be integrated into drones for fast, precise optical reconnaissance of large-scale damage and disaster situations arose in an exchange with emergency services. The basis for this is the MACS camera system for airborne image data acquisition and processing, which was established at our institute. Together with the Duisburg Fire Brigade, we are implementing the project and have already tested the system under real-life conditions.

How will the assessment for disasters and peril situations be structured in the future? Highly connected, we map the ‘live situation’ in detail and act immediately. In the event of an emergency, an aircraft automatically flies to the scene and immediately delivers high-resolution aerial images and maps in real time to the control centre. Emergency services thus gain valuable time that can save lives. With my expertise, I am therefore shaping the future of civil protection and disaster management at DLR.

Would you like to shape the future with us? You can find the current job advertisements of our Institute of Optical Sensor Systems here.

Like Julia Gonschorek, all researchers at DLR  pursue their tasks with curiosity and passion every day. They are free to focus all their energy on research and carry out pioneering work in the areas of aeronautics, space, energy, transport, security and digitalisation. 

What do our researchers value at DLR?

  • a personnel policy that offers equal opportunities and is family-friendly
  • flexible working time models and 30 days annual leave
  • further education, communication and leadership training 
  • comprehensive services for childcare and dependents in need of care, provided by an external cooperation partner
  • a management culture based on respect

Would you like to bring your expertise and innovative drive to DLR? You can find our current job advertisements here.

 

Information for applicants

Links

Downloads

Contacts

Institute of Optical Sensor Systems

To institute

Mein Wissen bewegt.

Live-Lageaufklärung, die Leben rettet

Julia Gonschorek ist Geoinformatikerin und leitet an unserem Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme in Berlin das Helmholtz Innovation Lab OPTSAL.

Drohnen erobern unseren Luftraum, sind flexibel einsetzbar und übernehmen deshalb inzwischen vielfältige Aufgaben. Meine Antwort auf diese Entwicklung für einen innovativen Zivil- und Katstrophenschutz: Auf unbemannten Fluggeräten verbinde ich mit meinem Team optische Technologien mit Geodaten und On-Board-Datenverarbeitung. Durch die aktuelle und zuverlässige Lageaufklärung können Einsatzkräfte am Boden besser koordiniert werden.

„In unserem Lab entwickeln wir neue optische Technologien zur Situationserfassung“

Am DLR–Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme in Berlin leite ich das Helmholtz Innovation Lab OPTSAL. Mit dem Optical Technologies for Situational Awareness Lab haben wir einen Raum für offene Forschung geschaffen. Hier entwickeln wir gemeinsam mit externen Partnern und bringen die Bedürfnisse von Anwendern und Industrie zusammen. 

Julia Gonschorek beim Testen unter realistischen Bedingungen

Das gemeinsame Ziel: Mit optischen Technologien bei Katastrophen und Schadenslagen, bei Polizeieinsätzen oder auch Großveranstaltungen die Situation genau erfassen und Behörden und Einsatzkräften durch eine präzise genaue Klärung der Lage unterstützen. Die Technologien umfassen im weitesten Sinne Kamerasysteme aller Art und arbeiten aus dem Weltall, als bodengestützte Systeme oder an Bord einer Drohne. Sie integrieren im Idealfall Datenverarbeitung und alle beteiligten Systeme sofort in die Arbeitsabläufe.

Wir stellen im Lab die nötige Infrastruktur bereit, um die neuen Technologien weiterzuentwickeln und einsatzrealistisch zu testen. Langfristig planen wir, das Lab als Kompetenzzentrum in unserem Forschungsbereich zu etablieren. Dafür statten wir gerade einen Lageraum und ein Labor (Dev-Center) für integrierte Hard- und Softwareentwicklung voll aus. 

„Mein Team und ich testen die 'Live-Lage'“

Meine Arbeit im Lab kann ich flexibel gestalten, die Zeiten genauso wie meine Aufgaben. Die Forschungsthemen an unserem Institut sind relevant, die Entwicklungspotenziale groß und die Interdisziplinarität ist beeindruckend. Das wirklich Besondere an der Arbeit am DLR sind und bleiben für mich meine Kolleginnen und Kollegen - ganz einfach weil sie talentierte Macher und Teamplayer sind!

Ein zukunftsweisendes Entwicklungsprojekt ist „Live-Lage“. Im Austausch mit Einsatzkräften enstand die Idee, ein in Drohnen integrierbares System zur schnellen, präzisen optischen Aufklärung von Großschadens- und Katastrophenlagen zu entwickeln. Basis ist die an unserem Institut entwickelte MACS-Kamerafamilie zur luftgestützten Bilddatenaufnahme und -verarbeitung. Gemeinsam mit der Berufsfeuerwehr Duisburg setzen wir das Projekt um und haben das System schon unter realistischen Bedingungen getestet.

Wie Situationserfassung bei Katastrophen und Schadenslagen in Zukunft strukturiert abläuft? Gut vernetzt bilden wir die „Live-Lage“ bis ins Detail ab und handeln: Im Einsatzfall fliegt ein Fluggerät automatisch zur Einsatzstelle und liefert sofort hochauflösende Luftbilder und Karten in Echtzeit an die Leitstelle. Die Einsatzkräfte gewinnen so wertvolle Zeit, die Leben retten kann - mit meinem Wissen gestalte ich beim DLR den Katastrophenschutz von morgen.

Sie möchten mit Ihrem Wissen an unserem Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme viel bewegen? Hier finden Sie die aktuellen Stellenausschreibungen.

So wie Julia Gonschorek gehen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler beim DLR täglich mit Neugier und Leidenschaft ihren Forschungsaufgaben nach. Denn hier können sie ihre Energie ganz auf die Forschung konzentrieren. Und dabei Pionierarbeit in den Bereichen Luftfahrt, Raumfahrt, Energie, Verkehr, Sicherheit und Digitalisierung leisten.

Was unsere Mitarbeitenden am DLR schätzen?

  • eine an Chancengleichheit orientierte und familienbewusste Personalpolitik
  • flexible Arbeitszeitmodelle und 30 Tage Urlaub
  • Weiterbildungsprogramme, Kommunikations- und Führungstrainings 
  • umfassende Leistungen rund um die Themen Kinderbetreuung und pflegebedürftige Angehörige über einen externen Kooperationspartner
  • eine an Wertschätzung orientierte Führungskultur

Möchten Sie ebenfalls Ihr Fachwissen und Ihre Innovationskraft beim DLR einbringen? Hier finden Sie unsere aktuellen Stellenausschreibungen.

 

Bewerberinformation

Links

Downloads

Kontakte

DLR-Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme

zum Institut