Shaping the future.

Composite structures as part of a digital vision

Sven Torstrick-von der Lieth is a materials engineer at the Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems. Together with his team he carries out groundbreaking research in aircraft construction.

Digitalisation is creating great opportunities in DLR research areas and cooperation with industry. New technologies also offer numerous innovative applications in composite lightweight construction. My team and I are responding to global change by exploring mechanical engineering, aerospace engineering and computer science in relation to the production of aerostructures. We are using virtual reality applications and digital twins to visualise automated production processes.

My team and I conduct research on an industrial scale

Sven Torstrick-von der Lieth visualises production processes

Compared to other research teams, we possess a decisive advantage – we operate a complete production line at our institute in Stade and can easily run through fully automated manufacturing processes for aircraft construction. We manufacture complete wing shells, aircraft fuselages and other components. We also operate the largest research autoclave in the world, which we use to cure aircraft components as if in an oven.

With this infrastructure we achieve realistic results and instantly highlight any problems. Most laboratories have ideal rather than real-world conditions, which means that many of the findings are not directly applicable to industrial processes. Our work differs in this aspect because we can implement our findings immediately. Instead of inspecting finished components for damage, the entire manufacturing process is optimised so that defects in the final product are almost entirely avoided. This allows us to communicate on equal terms with similarly well-established industrial partners.

I can visualise aircraft construction from the inside

As part of our collaboration, my team and I are taking one step further: by using virtual reality applications and digital twins, we are visualising and optimising automated production processes. We network the physical and virtual plant, and all sensor and machine data that accumulates in the digital twin of the machine is linked to the actual processes in the production hall.

So what is my vision of the manufacturing plant of the future? Operators receive error messages from a machine on their smartphone. Ideally, they can fix the problem immediately with the help of a tutorial displayed on their smart glasses.  In complicated cases, they simply request help from the manufacturer, who connects to the system remotely using virtual reality. Production in aircraft construction thus becomes more flexible, less complicated and more cost-effective – with my expertise, I am therefore helping to shape future aircraft construction at DLR.

Would you like to shape the future with us? You can find the current job advertisements of our Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems here.

Like Sven Torstrick-von der Lieth, all researchers at DLR  pursue their tasks with curiosity and passion every day. They are free to focus all their energy on research and carry out pioneering work in the areas of aeronautics, space, energy, transport, security and digitalisation. 

What do our researchers value at DLR?

  • a personnel policy that offers equal opportunities and is family-friendly
  • flexible working time models and 30 days annual leave
  • further education, communication and leadership training 
  • comprehensive services for childcare and dependents in need of care, provided by an external cooperation partner
  • a management culture based on respect

Would you like to bring your expertise and innovative drive to DLR? You can find our current job advertisements here.

 

Information for applicants

Links

Downloads

Contacts

DLR Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems

To institute

Mein Wissen bewegt.

Faserverbundleichtbau mit digitalem Weitblick

Sven Torstrick-von der Lieth ist Werkstoffingenieur und leistet mit seinem Team an unserem Institut für Faserverbundleichtbau und Adaptronik Pionierarbeit im Flugzeugbau.

Die Digitalisierung eröffnet in den Forschungsbereichen des DLR und in der Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie große Chancen. Neue technologische Möglichkeiten bieten auch im Faserverbundleichtbau viele innovative Anwendungsmöglichkeiten. Meine Antwort auf diese Entwicklung einer Welt im Wandel: Mit meinem Team aus den Fachrichtungen Maschinenbau, Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik und Informatik untersuche ich die Herstellung von Flugzeugstrukturen. Durch Virtual-Reality-Anwendungen und digitale Zwillinge machen wir die automatischen Produktionsprozesse transparent.

„Mein Team und ich betreiben Forschung im Industriemaßstab“

Sven Torstrick-von der Lieth macht Produktionsprozesse digital transparent

Im Gegensatz zu anderen Forschungsteams haben wir einen entscheidenden Vorteil: Wir betreiben eine komplette Produktionsstraße in unserem Institut in Stade und können Fertigungsprozesse für den Flugzeugbau vollautomatisiert durchlaufen lassen. Wir fertigen dort komplette Flügelschalen, Flugzeugrümpfe und andere Bauteile. Außerdem betreiben wir den weltgrößten Forschungsautoklav, in dem wir Flugzeugteile wie in einem Ofen aushärten lassen. 

Mit dieser Infrastruktur erzielen wir realistische Ergebnisse und machen Probleme sofort sichtbar. In den meisten Labors herrschen ideale Voraussetzungen, sodass viele Erkenntnisse nicht direkt auf den industriellen Maßstab übertragbar sind. Das ist bei uns anders, wir können Erkenntnisse unmittelbar umsetzen. Statt fertige Bauteile auf Schäden zu überprüfen, wird die gesamte Produktion so optimiert, dass Fehler im Endprodukt quasi ausgeschlossen sind. Auf dieser Basis kommunizieren wir mit unseren Industriepartnern auf Augenhöhe.

„Ich sehe den Flugzeugbau von innen“

In dieser Zusammenarbeit gehen mein Team und ich noch einen Schritt weiter: Mit Virtual-Reality-Anwendungen und digitalen Zwillingen machen wir die automatischen Produktionsprozesse transparent und optimieren sie. Wir vernetzen die physische und virtuelle Anlage. Sämtliche Sensor- und Maschinendaten, die im digitalen Zwilling der Maschine auflaufen, werden mit den tatsächlichen Abläufen in der Produktionshalle verknüpft. 

Meine Vision von der Fertigungsanlage der Zukunft? Fehlermeldungen einer Maschine empfangen die Werker auf dem Smartphone. Anhand eines in der Datenbrille abgespielten Tutorials können sie im Idealfall die Panne sofort beheben. In schwierigeren Fällen fordern sie einfach Hilfe vom Hersteller an, der sich per Virtual Reality aus der Ferne in die Anlage einklinkt. Die Produktion im Flugzeugbau wird so flexibler, unkomplizierter und kostengünstiger – mit meinem Wissen gestalte ich beim DLR den nachhaltigen Flugzeugbau von morgen!

Sie möchten mit Ihrem Wissen an unserem Institut für Faserverbundleichtbau und Adaptronik viel bewegen? Hier finden Sie die aktuellen Stellenausschreibungen.

So wie Sven Torstrick-von der Lieth gehen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler beim DLR täglich mit Neugier und Leidenschaft ihren Forschungsaufgaben nach. Denn hier können sie ihre Energie ganz auf die Forschung konzentrieren. Und dabei Pionierarbeit in den Bereichen Luftfahrt, Raumfahrt, Energie, Verkehr, Sicherheit und Digitalisierung leisten.

Was unsere Mitarbeitenden am DLR schätzen?

  • eine an Chancengleichheit orientierte und familienbewusste Personalpolitik
  • flexible Arbeitszeitmodelle und 30 Tage Urlaub
  • Weiterbildungsprogramme, Kommunikations- und Führungstrainings 
  • umfassende Leistungen rund um die Themen Kinderbetreuung und pflegebedürftige Angehörige über einen externen Kooperationspartner
  • eine an Wertschätzung orientierte Führungskultur

Möchten Sie ebenfalls Ihr Fachwissen und Ihre Innovationskraft beim DLR einbringen? Hier finden Sie unsere aktuellen Stellenausschreibungen.

 

Bewerberinformation

Links

Downloads

Kontakte

DLR-Institut für Faserverbundleichtbau und Adaptronik

zum Institut