Living science

Icebreaker voyage to the wreck of the Endurance

by Manuela Braun

Thomas Busche can still picture that climactic moment in perfect detail. Over the last few days, the research ship S.A.Agulhas II had pushed its way through the mighty pack ice of the Antarctic Weddell Sea. The constant, omnipresent rumble could be heard on all of the decks as the ice floes scraped along the ship’s sides. The search for Endurance, the expedition ship of polar explorer Ernest Shackleton that sank in 1915, had been going on around the clock for days. Working alongside Dmitrii Murashkin of the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR), Busche had retrieved and processed daily images from the TerraSAR-X radar satellite to plan a safe route for the ship through the ice during the Endurance22 expedition. Suddenly a colleague rushed up, holding his mobile phone aloft. On the screen was an image of the hull of Endurance, 3008 metres underwater, taken by a submersible robot. On 5 March 2022, the team of scientists and the ship’s crew made headlines around the world for their remarkable find.

A polar region like an alien planet

Working on the pack ice - in one of the most inaccessible areas on earth. (DLR)

The Falklands Maritime Heritage Trust put together an interdisciplinary team of scientists, engineers and technicians for the expedition. “The Weddell Sea is a remote wilderness and only accessible to ships for a few weeks a year,” says Busche. “This is the most inaccessible region on Earth.” There are lots of penguins and seals, a few other birds, and no land in sight. During the research voyage, temperatures usually ranged from minus five to minus eight degrees Celsius. During cold spells, the thermometer dropped to minus 17 degrees. “You would think twice about taking off your gloves on deck,” recalls Busche, who assisted other science teams with their research work on the pack ice itself. “It truly is like being on another planet out there.”

Underway through the pack ice - the "S.A.Agulhas II (Falklands Maritime Heritage Trust und James Blake)

Ernest Shackleton is supposed to have recruited his crew with the following newspaper advertisement: “Men wanted: for hazardous journey, small wages, bitter cold, long months of complete darkness, constant danger, safe return doubtful, honour and recognition in case of success.” In other words, honour and recognition were not awarded for successfully crossing Antarctica, but for sheer survival. The last time Frank Worsley, the captain of Endurance, wrote down his ship’s coordinates was on 21 November 1915. By this time, Shackleton’s plan to cross Antarctica had already failed, leaving Endurance abandoned and firmly in the grip of the destructive pack ice. A private expedition in 2019 to search for the historic wreck had to give up when the team lost contact with their diving robot and the dense pack ice threatened to trap their research ship. The success of the Endurance22 expedition was by no means guaranteed.

Remote sensing in shifts

The route through the pack ice was planned using satellite data that DLR researchers analysed on board. (Falklands Maritime Heritage Trust und James Blake)

“The ice in the Weddell Sea is very different to the ice you find elsewhere, as it ranges from newly formed ice to ice floes that are several years old,” says Busche, who coordinates the international scientific use of the TanDEM-X radar satellites at the DLR Microwaves and Radar Institute. “Those differences are difficult to interpret in the radar images.” But satellite images have a unique advantage – their radar signals can pass through clouds unhindered, so they can provide up-to-date images regardless of the weather and time of day. The Bremen-based company ‘Drift+Noise’ asked Thomas Busche to take part in the expedition. The remote sensing specialist began his career at DLR with an internship during his geography degree course; he also prepared his thesis at DLR. Together with his colleague Dmitrii Murashkin from the DLR Remote Sensing Technology Institute, his work on the expedition involved processing and evaluating the satellite data for the geo-information system on board and shift work on the ship’s bridge.

“Using our charts, the specialist ice team worked with the ship manager and the ice pilot to determine the safest route.” Even the very best icebreaker would not attempt to force its way through the solid pack ice ridges of the Weddell Sea. The DLR science team greatly appreciated being able to put their science expertise to practical use in this way. Busche and Murashkin were full of nervous excitement as they sat down in front of the screens in the office on deck four. Had the satellites acquired the images? Could the raw data be downloaded from space? The data team had special internet access on board. Everything went surprisingly well, according to Busche – there were only a couple of technical issues.

Satellite imagery on rough seas

Life on the ship took some getting used to for the crew, who were now working in an office surrounded by up to five-metre waves and living in a two-person cabin on deck six instead of comfortable apartments. Temperatures ranged from T-shirt weather at the port of departure in Cape Town to icy polar winds in the Weddell Sea. They slept and worked according to the rhythm of the expedition, with the ship’s position determined by the working area of the diving robot. Busche was lucky. “After a day or two I got used to the rough seas, although working on a screen was difficult.” More than 100 years ago, Shackleton kept his crew entertained with football matches and amateur theatre on the ice. For the scarce free time when the S. A. Agulhas II was surrounded by pack ice and drifting along calmly, those on board could make use of a fitness studio, two lounges, a small kitchen and table tennis in the helicopter hangar. Simply getting around the nine decks of the over 130-metre-long ship provided plenty of opportunities for exercise at other times; Busche covered four to five kilometres a day on the ship’s decks and stairways. Only jogging on the ship’s deck was prohibited for safety reasons.

The wreck of the "Endurance" - well preserved at a depth of over 3000 metres. (Falklands Maritime Heritage Trust)

 

The successful discovery of the legendary wreck in a search area of over 400 square kilometres was due to the expedition’s well-prepared team, the necessary technology and the safe route-finding made possible by the satellite images evaluated by DLR. In the images that the diving robot transmitted to the ship, the Endurance lies incredibly well preserved on the seabed. The stern bearing the name of the discovery vessel emerges eerily from the darkness, illuminated by the cone of light from the diving robot. Small jellyfish and white crabs sit on her railing and wooden planks. The ship looks just as it did when it was photographed for the last time, locked in the pack ice, but now it is resting on the sea floor. This will not change, because as a historical site the wreck must not be touched.

At the end of the world

There was a second moment of the expedition that Thomas Busche will not forget. On the return voyage to Cape Town, the S. A. Agulhas II dropped anchor off the island of South Georgia. The captain, crew and researchers set out in small boats for the east coast of the island and the town of Grytviken, home to a disused whaling station by the picturesque fjord, a research station, a small museum with the Endurance captain’s nautical calendar and a cemetery. There lies the grave of polar explorer Ernest Shackleton, who was buried here in March 1922. “Standing before it was a very moving experience,” says Busche.

 

Working at the DLR Microwaves and Radar Institute:

Our Microwaves and Radar Institute conducts research into the design and development of new techniques and systems for synthetic aperture radar. Its instruments are used both on aircraft and on satellites. It is involved in a large number of national and international missions.

These include, for example, the TanDEM-X radar mission - two radar satellites that orbit the Earth in a sophisticated interplay and collect precise height information for digital height models. With this mission, the Institute has been able to set new standards in radar remote sensing. Now it is working on the next generation of radar satellites for climate research and environmental observation, among other things.. 

 

Another important part of the institute's tasks: training young scientists in the form of internships, diploma and doctoral theses.

Open positions at our Microwaves and Radar Institute can be found here.

Information for applicants

Links

Downloads

Contacts

DLR site Oberpfaffenhofen

To location

Wissenschaft leben

Mit dem Eisbrecher zum Wrack der „Endurance“

von Manuela Braun

Thomas Busche kann sich noch ganz exakt an den entscheidenden Moment erinnern. In den letzten Tagen hatte sich das Forschungsschiff „S.A.Agulhas II“ durch das mächtige Packeis des antarktischen Weddellmeers geschoben. Auf allen Decks war das permanente, allgegenwärtige Grollen zu hören, wenn die Eisschollen entlang der Schiffswände schrammten. Rund um die Uhr lief seit Tagen die Suche nach der „Endurance“, dem 1915 versunkenen Expeditionsschiff von Polarforscher Ernest Shackleton. Busche hatte gemeinsam mit Dmitrii Murashkin vom DLR an Bord des Eisbrechers täglich Aufnahmen des Radarsatelliten TerraSAR-X abgerufen und verarbeitet, damit für die „Endurance22-Expedition“ sichere Schiffsrouten durchs Eis geplant werden konnten. Und dann stand auf einmal ein Kollege da und hielt sein Handy hoch. Auf dem Bildschirm: ein Screenshot des Schiffsrumpfes der „Endurance“, 3008 Meter unter Wasser, aufgenommen von einem Tauchroboter. Das Wissenschaftsteam und die Schiffsbesatzung waren am 5. März 2022 damit zu erfolgreichen Entdeckern geworden, deren Fund weltweit für Schlagzeilen sorgte.

Polarregion wie auf einem fremden Planeten

Arbeiten auf dem Packeis - in einer der unzugänglichsten Gebiete der Erde. (Quelle: DLR)

Der Falklands Maritime Heritage Trust hatte für das Unterfangen ein interdisziplinäres Team aus Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern, Ingenieuren und Technikern zusammengestellt. „Das Weddellmeer ist eine abgelegene Wildnis und nur wenige Wochen im Jahr überhaupt für Schiffe zugänglich“, sagt Thomas Busche vom DLR-Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme. „Die Region ist das unzugänglichste Gebiet auf der Erde.“ Viele Pinguine, viele Robben, nur wenige andere Vögel und kein Land in Sicht. Grundsätzlich herrschen während der Forschungsfahrt Temperaturen von minus fünf bis minus acht Grad Celsius, bei polaren Kaltlufteinbrüchen fällt das Thermometer auf minus 17 Grad Celsius. „Da überlegt man zwei Mal, ob man auf Deck seine Handschuhe auszieht.“ Bei Forschungsarbeiten auf dem Packeis selbst hat Busche andere Wissenschaftsteams unterstützt. „Man steht dort wirklich wie auf einem anderen Planeten."

Unterwegs durchs Packeis - die "S.A.Agulhas II" (Quelle: Falklands Maritime Heritage Trust und James Blake)

Ernest Shackleton hat seine Crew angeblich mit folgender Zeitungsanzeige gesucht: „Männer gesucht: Für riskante Reise. Niedrige Löhne, bittere Kälte, lange Monate in kompletter Dunkelheit, ständige Gefahr, sichere Rückkehr zweifelhaft. Ruhm und Ehre im Erfolgsfall.“ Ruhm und Ehre gab es dann nicht für die erfolgreiche Überquerung der Antarktis, sondern für das schiere Überleben. Zum letzten Mal hatte Frank Worsley, der Kapitän der „Endurance“, am 21. November 1915 die Koordinaten seines Schiffs notiert – da war Shackletons Plan, die Antarktis zu überqueren, bereits gescheitert, die „Endurance“ verlassen und fest im Griff des zerstörerischen Packeises. Eine private Expedition, die 2019 nach dem historischen Wrack suchte, musste aufgeben, als der Tauchroboter den Kontakt zum Schiff verlor und dichtes Packeis das Forschungsschiff einzuschließen drohte. Und auch der Erfolg der „Endurance22-Expedition“ war keineswegs garantiert.

Fernerkundung im Schichtdienst

Die Route durchs Packeis wurde mit Satellitendaten geplant, die DLR-Forscher an Bord auswerteten. (Quelle: Falklands Maritime Heritage Trust und James Blake)

„Die Eiseigenschaften im Weddellmeer sind sehr unterschiedlich - das reicht von sehr jungem Eis bis hin zu mehrjährigen Eisschollen“, sagt Busche, der am DLR-Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme die internationale wissenschaftliche Nutzung der TanDEM-X-Radarsatelliten koordiniert. „Und diese Unterschiede sind auf den Radaraufnahmen schwierig zu interpretieren.“ Dafür haben diese Satellitenaufnahmen aber einen einzigartigen Vorteil: Ihre Radarimpulse dringen untergehindert durch Wolken hindurch und können so - unabhängig von Wetter und Tageszeit - aktuelle Aufnahmen liefern. Und so fragte das Bremer Unternehmen „Drift and Noise“ bei Thomas Busche die Teilnahme an der Expedition an. Für den Fernerkundungsspezialisten, der mit einem Praktikum während seines Geographiestudiums und einer Diplomarbeit seine Laufbahn im DLR begann, und seinen Kollegen Dmitrii Murashkin vom DLR-Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung bedeutete dies: Verarbeitung und Auswertung der Satellitendaten für das Geo-Informationssystem an Bord und Schichtdienst auf der Schiffsbrücke.

„Mit unseren Karten konnten wir im Eisexperten-Team dann mit dem Schiffsmanager und dem Eispiloten die sicherste Strecke festlegen.“ Selbst der beste Eisbrecher sollte nicht versuchen, die stabilen Presseisrücken des Weddellmeers mit Gewalt zu durchqueren. Das Gefühl, die eigene Wissenschaft so operationell im Betrieb umzusetzen – das hat dem DLR-Wissenschaftlerteam große Freude bereitet. Freude, aber auch zugleich Nervenanspannung, wenn die beiden vor den Bildschirmen im Büro auf Deck 4 saßen. Haben die Satelliten die Aufnahmen durchgeführt? Konnten die Rohdaten aus dem All heruntergeladen werden? Fürs Datenteam gab es extra einen privilegierten Internetzugang an Bord. Geklappt hat alles erstaunlich gut, nur ein, zwei Mal gab es technische Probleme, sagt Busche.

Satellitenbilder mit Seegang

Geklappt hat es auch mit der Gewöhnung ans Leben auf dem Schiff. Ein Büro mit Wellengang bis zu fünf Metern. Eine Zweierkabine auf Deck 6 statt heimischer Wohnung. Temperaturen vom T-Shirt-Wetter am Starthafen in Kapstadt bis hin zum eisigen Polarwind im Weddellmeer. Schlafen und Arbeiten im Rhythmus der Expedition, bei der das Schiff mit seiner Position immer dem Arbeitsgebiet des Tauchroboters folgt. Busche hat Glück gehabt. „Nach ein, zwei Tagen hatte ich mich an den Seegang gewöhnt, auch wenn die Arbeit am Bildschirm bei Seegang schwierig war.“ Shackleton hielt vor mehr als hundert Jahren seine Mannschaft noch mit Fußballspielen und Laientheater auf dem Eis bei Laune, auf der „S.A. Agulhas II“ gab es für die knapp bemessene Freizeit einen Fitnessraum, zwei Salons, die Kaffeeküche und ein Tischtennis-Turnier im Hubschrauber-Hangar, wenn das Schiff von Packeis umschlossen ruhig driftete. Ansonsten haben die Entfernungen auf der über 130 Metern langen „S.A. Agulhas II“ mit ihren neun Decks für Bewegung gesorgt. Vier bis fünf Kilometer täglich hat Busche auf den Decks und Treppenhäusern des Schiffs zurückgelegt. Nur das Joggen auf dem Schiffsdeck selbst war aus Sicherheitsgründen nicht gestattet.

Das Wrack der "Endurance" - gut erhalten in über 3000 Metern Tiefe. (Quelle: Falklands Maritime Heritage Trust)

 

Dass die Expedition das legendäre Wrack in einem Suchgebiet von über 400 Quadratkilometern entdeckt hat, ist das Verdienst eines gut aufgestellten Teams und der erforderlichen Technik – aber auch der sicheren Routenführung, die die ausgewerteten Satellitenbilder des DLR ermöglichten. Auf den Filmaufnahmen, die der Tauchroboter aufs Schiff übertrug, liegt die „Endurance“ unfassbar gut erhalten auf dem Meeresgrund. Aus dem Dunkeln taucht gespenstisch das Heck mit dem Namen des Entdeckerbootes im Lichtkegel des Tauchroboters auf. Kleine Quallen und weiße Krabben sitzen auf der Reling und den Holzplanken der „Endurance“. So, wie das Schiff eingeschlossen im Packeis zum letzten Mal fotografiert wurde, so ruht es auch auf dem Meeresboden. Verändern wird sich dies nicht, denn als historische Stätte darf das historische Wrack nicht angetastet werden.

Am Ende der Welt

Es gibt aber noch einen zweiten Moment auf der Expeditionsreise, den Thomas Busche nicht vergessen wird. Auf der Rückreise nach Kapstadt ankerte die „S.A. Agulhas II“ vor der Insel Südgeorgien. Kapitän, Crew und Forschende setzten in kleinen Booten zur Ostküste der Insel zum Ort Grytviken hinüber. Eine stillgelegte Walfangstation am malerischen Fjord, eine Forschungsstation, ein kleines Museum mit dem nautischen Kalender des „Endurance“-Kapitäns und ein Friedhof. Darauf: das Grab von Polarforscher Ernest Shackleton, der im März 1922 dort bestattet wurde. „Dort zu stehen, das hat mich sehr bewegt“, sagt Busche.

 

Arbeiten beim DLR-Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme:

Unser Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme forscht an der Konzeption und Entwicklung neuer Techniken und Systeme zum Radar mit synthetischer Apertur. Dabei kommen seine Instrumente sowohl an Flugzeugen als auch auf Satelliten zum Einsatz. Es ist an einer Vielzahl an nationalen und internationalen Missionen beteiligt.

Dazu gehört beispielsweise die Radarmission TanDEM-X - zwei Radarsatelliten, die in einem ausgefeilten Zusammenspiel die Erde umkreisen und präzise Höheninformationen für digitale Höhenmodelle erfassen. Mit der Mission hat das Institut neue Standards in der Radarfernerkundung setzen können. Nun arbeitet es unter anderem an der nächsten Generation von Radarsatelliten für Klimaforschung und Umweltbeobachtung. 

 

Ebenfalls ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Institutsaufgaben: das Ausbilden junger Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in Form von Praktika, Diplom- und Doktorarbeiten.

Offene Stellen an unserem Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme sind hier zu finden.

Bewerberinformation

Links

Downloads

Kontakte

DLR-Standort Oberpfaffenhofen

zum Standort