Header-Blog

Blog: Close-up

02. February 2023
Manuela Braun
Gathering airborne data, even with a blocked nose
During climate research campaigns like CAFE-Brazil, Christian Mallaun is always running out of time: immediately after each flight, he provides vital data on the temperature, humidity, aircraft position and wind speeds recorded during the measurement flights. The science teams researching the chemical processes in the atmosphere above the Amazon rainforest in Brazil require this information to be able to evaluate the data collected by their own on-board instruments. That’s why Christian takes turns with his colleagues from the Measurement and Sensor Technology group at DLR's Flight Experiments facility to accompany the deployment of the HALO research aircraft. It's a job that requires both accuracy and speed but is never boring. Back at the desk at home, it's time for the detailed analysis. read more
25. January 2023
Manuela Braun
Checking HALO to fly safely over Brazil's rainforest
Sandrine Battesti is a very precise person. And at DLR, she has the power to say no. Although such sticklers for detail could be called pedantic, in Sandrine's case it is immensely important that she is as precise as possible. After all, it is her job to check the modifications and equipment installed on our research aircraft, HALO. She is responsible for ensuring that HALO, with its pilots, scientists and all instruments, safely completes its flights over the Amazon. Without her careful scrutiny, there is no approval. If she doesn't give the green light, the plane stays on the ground. In our latest blog post, we show why her work involves copious paperwork and a great deal of responsibility. read more
18. January 2023
Manuela Braun
Wings over the Amazon: project management for climate research
These days, Thomas Sprünken’s daily commute takes him through the urban traffic of Manaus. Outside, the temperature is around 30 degrees Celsius and humidity is over 80 percent. The project manager is on his way to the aircraft hangar at the Eduardo Gomes airport that currently houses HALO, the High Altitude and Long Range Research Aircraft designed to carry 16 climate research instruments over the tropical rainforest. Thomas is on site with a team of technicians, engineers and pilots from our Flight Experiments facility to get the CAFE-Brazil campaign off the ground. But his work – planning the HALO measurement campaign – started much earlier: read our blog post to find out how the project manager makes it all happen. read more
16. January 2023
When the engine ignites
Nora Bierwagen joined DLR as a student and is now working on her doctorate at our Reponsive Space Cluster Competence Center in Trauen. There, the 24-year-old scientist is researching hybrid rocket engines. In an interview, she talks about the exciting experiments on the test stand and the impressive feeling when the engine starts to "breathe". read more
03. January 2023
Manuela Braun
Learning from mice, naked mole rats and humans
Titiaan Post is a doctoral student at our Institute of Aerospace Medicine. The 32-year-old moved to DLR from the Netherlands to conduct research for his doctorate with us. Since then he has conducted several studies with test participants - always on the trail of the effects of oxygen deficiency on the human body and its performance. His role models: Mice and naked mole rats, which react and adapt to oxygen deficiency. A portrait introduces our doctoral student. read more
25. November 2022
Manuela Braun
International exchange: across the big pond for networking
Different working cultures, collaboration with PhD students from a variety of nationalities and insights into the latest research currently underway at the University of Michigan and the Glenn Research Center of the U.S. space agency NASA - when Thomas Backhaus returned to DLR in Dresden from his six-week research stay in the USA, his head was full of new impressions and experiences. Our blog post reports on his experience. read more
23. November 2022
Manuela Braun
Finding the right candidates using psychology
When humans set foot on the Moon again in the next few decades, it is very likely that Viktor Oubaid will have already met the European astronaut. Chances are that he knows how this person works in a team, how good his or her memory and concentration skills are, as well as the astronaut's motivation for applying for this somewhat special profession. Oubaid is a psychologist at the DLR Institute of Aerospace Medicine and was part of the selection team for both the astronaut class of 2008 and the new astronaut class of 2022. - He tells us what brought him into aerospace psychology and how to test objectively. read more
14. November 2022
Manuela Braun
The Moon’s terrestrial outpost - the LUNA facility
Seven hundred square metres and nine meters high – these are the dimensions of the hall in which the Moon will have its earthly outpost from 2024. It is a small outpost when you consider that the Moon has a surface area of almost 38,000,000 square kilometres, and yet the LUNA facility will be the only place in Europe where researchers, astronauts and rovers can ‘travel’ to Earth's satellite in the future and conduct comprehensive mission training. - A report on the research facility that will bring the Moon to Earth. read more
05. September 2022
Manuela Braun
Living with half a heart
Megan’s feet are resting on the pedals of the exercise bicycle. She has avoided what she is about to do all her life, out of concern for her heart, but in the coming minutes she will push herself to her physical limits. The 29-year-old is a Fontan patient – she was born with a complex heart defect, where the dividing wall between her two ventricles is incomplete. When she exerts herself, her heart is only able to supply her body with the vital oxygen it needs to a limited extent. - A visit to the Hypofon heart study in our research facility :envihab. read more
10. August 2022
Manuela Braun
Harnessing atmospheric research and physics to combat sunburn
There are three things you should know about Julian Meyer-Arnek: he loves being outdoors, he has a young daughter, and he is a theoretical physicist and atmospheric researcher. Three years ago, with support from DLR Technology Marketing, the combination of these factors led him to develop and market the UV-Bodyguard, a product that measures UV radiation and warns the user via an app if they are at risk of sunburn. This work saw Julian take on new responsibilities and go on to found the company ajuma GmbH, where he continues to work on improving the product. -
In this interview, the physicist, who works at the German Remote Sensing Data Center, reveals what it needs to develop the UV-Bodyguard. read more
01. August 2022
Manuela Braun
LDACS – radio communications for future air transport
We’re travelling at 700 kilometres per hour, more than 10,000 metres above the ground. Munich’s Theresienwiese, a large area dotted with white tent structures, stretches out below. Again and again, one of the many lakes around Oberpfaffenhofen comes into view. The Falcon aircraft operated by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) flies in a large loop past Munich before returning to the Oberpfaffenhofen site. - A ride in the test campaign LDACS for digital communication between air and ground. read more
18. July 2022
Manuela Braun
Remote-controlled sailing through a dock with ‘Josephine’
‘Josephine’ sails slowly through Jarßum harbour towards the quay wall. Arne Lamm and Christian Steger from the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) Institute of Systems Engineering for Future Mobility are on board the research boat, but neither of them has their hand on the steering wheel or throttle. Instead, the eight-metre-long boat is being steered from the shore, where – from a shipping container equipped as a ship’s bridge – DLR’s Matthias Steidel maintains contact with the crew, while research assistant Janusz Piotrowski of the University of Oldenburg controls the boat. - On board the research vessel "Josephine" and in the control station for the AMISIA project. read more
20. June 2022
Manuela Braun
Sensitive robotic assistance systems
Imagine picking up a jug, pouring the liquid into a cup and bringing it to your lips. You would make those movements intuitively, without having to give them much thought. You simply hold the jug over the cup, tilt it gently and watch the coffee run into it. The gestures required to drink from the cup happen almost automatically, too. Yet these and other everyday activities, such as opening doors, can be extremely difficult for people with motor impairments. - In the laboratory of our Medical and Healthcare Robotics team. read more
28. March 2022
Manuela Braun
Icebreaker voyage to the wreck of the Endurance
Thomas Busche can still picture that climactic moment in perfect detail. Over the last few days, the research ship S.A.Agulhas II had pushed its way through the mighty pack ice of the Antarctic Weddell Sea. The constant, omnipresent rumble could be heard on all of the decks as the ice floes scraped along the ship’s sides. The search for Endurance, the expedition ship of polar explorer Ernest Shackleton that sank in 1915, had been going on around the clock for days. - Thomas Busche talks about his work and life on board the polar ship. read more
20. December 2021
Manuela Braun
Driverless and on-call
It is a staple of science fiction films: a futuristic, driverless car pulls up at the curb, the passenger gets in and is whisked away to their destination as the self-driving vehicle passes smoothly and effortlessly through the flowing city traffic. This is a vision of on-demand public transport tailored to the customer's indivual requirements. In today's reality, however, it is not that simple with autonomous driving systems. - A report on the journeys of the two mini-buses that drove almost autonomously through Hamburg's residential districts for the "emoin" project. read more

Header-Blog

Blog: Nah dran

02. Februar 2023
Manuela Braun
Messen, auch wenn die Nase manchmal verstopft ist
Bei Klima-Kampagnen wie CAFE-Brazil sitzt Dr. Christian Mallaun oft die Zeit im Nacken: Er liefert bereits direkt im Anschluss an jeden einzelnen Flug wichtige Daten unter anderem zu Temperaturen, Feuchte, Lage des Flugzeugs und Windgeschwindigkeiten, die während der Messflüge herrschten. Das ist wichtig für die Wissenschaftsteams, die in Brasilien zum Beispiel die chemischen Prozesse in der Atmosphäre über dem Amazonas-Regenwald erforschen. Um ihre gemessenen Daten auswerten zu können, sind Parameter zu den Messbedingungen für sie unerlässlich. Christian Mallaun von der DLR-Einrichtung Flugexperimente hat deshalb - im Wechsel mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen der Gruppe Mess- und Sensortechnik - den Einsatz des Forschungsflugzeugs HALO vor Ort begleitet. Eine Arbeit, bei der es auf genaue Daten, aber vor Ort auch auf Schnelligkeit ankommt. Am heimischen Schreibtisch geht es an die Detailauswertung. weiterlesen
25. Januar 2023
Manuela Braun
Prüfen, damit HALO sicher über Brasiliens Regenwald fliegt
Sandrine Battesti ist eine, die ganz genau ist. Und sie hat im DLR die Lizenz zum Neinsagen. Auch wenn so genaue Menschen gerne mal als Pedanten oder Erbsenzähler benannt werden – im Fall von Sandrine ist es immens wichtig, dass sie so genau wie möglich. Sie prüft im Entwicklungsbetrieb unserer Einrichtung Flugexperimente nämlich die Nachweise und Test für Um- und Einbauten an unseren Forschungsflugzeugen. Dass unser Forschungsflugzeug HALO mit seinen Piloten, den Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern und allen Instrumenten sicher über dem Amazonas seine Flüge absolviert, liegt in ihrer Verantwortung. Ohne ihre sorgfältige Prüfung, gibt es keine Zulassung. Wenn sie kein Grünes Licht gibt, bleibt das Flugzeug am Boden. In unserem Blogbeitrag zeigen wir, warum mit ihrer Arbeit viele Aktenordner und viel Verantwortung verbunden sind. weiterlesen
18. Januar 2023
Manuela Braun
Für die Klimaforschung: Projektmanagement am Amazonas
Wenn Thomas Sprünken derzeit zur Arbeit fährt, geht es mitten durch den Stadtverkehr von Manaus. Draußen sind es um die 30 Grad Celsius, die Luftfeuchtigkeit liegt bei mehr als 80 Prozent. Der Projektmanager ist auf dem Weg zum Flugzeughangar am „Eduardo Gomes“-Flughafen – dort steht das Forschungsflugzeug HALO (High Altitude and Long Range Research Aircraft), das 16 Messinstrumente von Klimaforschern über den tropischen Regenwald bringen soll. Thomas Sprünken ist mit einem Team aus Technikern, Ingenieuren und Piloten unserer Einrichtung Flugexperimente vor Ort, um die Kampagne CAFE-Brazil am Laufen zu halten. Seine Arbeit - die Planung der Messkampagne mit HALO - hat schon viel früher begonnen. - Unser Blogbeitrag berichtet, wie der Projektmanager die Fäden in der Hand hält. weiterlesen
16. Januar 2023
Julia Rinner
Der Moment, wenn das Triebwerk zündet
Nora Bierwagen kam bereits als Studentin ans DLR und promoviert inzwischen an unserem Kompetenzzentrum für reaktionsschnelle Satellitenverbringung in Trauen. Dort forscht die 24-jährige Wissenschaftlerin an Hybridraketenantrieben. In einem Interview berichtet sie von den spannenden Versuchen am Prüfstand und dem beeindruckenden Gefühl, wenn das Triebwerk zu „atmen“ beginnt. weiterlesen
03. Januar 2023
Manuela Braun
Lernen von den Mäusen, Nacktmullen und Menschen
Titiaan Post ist Doktorand an unserem Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin. Der 32-Jährige ist aus den Niederlanden ans DLR gewechselt, um bei uns für seine Promotion zu forschen. Seitdem hat er mehrere Studien mit Probandinnen und Probanden durchgeführt – immer auf der Spur nach den Auswirkungen von Sauerstoffmangel auf den menschlichen Körper und dessen Leistungsfähigkeit. Seine Vorbilder: Mäuse und Nacktmulle, die auf Sauerstoffmangel reagieren und sich anpassen. Ein Porträt stellt unseren Doktoranden vor. weiterlesen
25. November 2022
Manuela Braun
Internationaler Austausch: Zum Netzwerken über den großen Teich
Andere Arbeitskulturen, die Zusammenarbeit mit Doktoranden verschiedener Nationalitäten und Einblicke in die neuesten Forschungsarbeiten, die an der University of Michigan und dem Glenn Research Center der amerikanischen Weltraumbehörde NASA derzeit laufen - als Thomas Backhaus von seinem sechswöchigen Forschungsaufenthalt in den USA wieder nach Dresden ans DLR zurückkehrte, war sein Kopf voll mit neuen Eindrücken. Unser Blogbeitrag berichtet von seiner Erfahrung. weiterlesen
23. November 2022
Manuela Braun
Mit Psychologie zu den passenden Kandidat/innen
Wenn in den nächsten Jahrzehnten wieder Menschen den Mond betreten, stehen die Chancen gut, dass Viktor Oubaid den/die europäische/n Astronauten/in schon einmal vor sich sitzen hatte. Oubaid ist Psychologe am DLR-Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin und gehörte sowohl bei der Astronaut/innenklasse von 2008 als auch bei der neuen Astronaut/innenklasse von 2022 zum Auswahlteam. - Er berichtet, was ihn zur Luft- und Raumfahrtpsychologie gebracht hat und wie man objektiv testet. weiterlesen
14. November 2022
Manuela Braun
Die irdische Filiale des Mondes – die LUNA-Anlage
700 Quadratmeter, neun Meter hoch – das sind die Maße der Halle, in der voraussichtlich ab 2024 der Mond seine irdische Filiale haben wird. Eine kleine Filiale, wenn man bedenkt, dass der Mond eine Oberfläche von fast 38.000.000 Quadratkilometer hat, und dennoch wird die LUNA-Anlage europaweit der einzige Ort sein, an dem Forschende, Astronaut/innen und Rover sich zukünftig auf den Erdtrabanten versetzen lassen und umfassende Missionstrainings durchführen können. - Ein Bericht über die Forschungsanlage, die den Mond auf die Erde bringen wird. weiterlesen
05. September 2022
Manuela Braun
Leben mit einem halben Herzen
Megans Füße stehen auf den Pedalen des Ergometers. Das, was sie gleich machen wird, hat sie ihr Leben lang aus Rücksicht auf ihr Herz vermieden: Sie wird bis an ihre körperliche Leistungsgrenze gehen. Die 29-Jährige ist eine Fontan-Patientin - sie ist mit einem komplexen Herzfehler zur Welt gekommen, unter anderem ist die Trennwand zwischen ihren beiden Herzkammern nicht vollständig. Ihr Herz kann bei Anstrengung ihren Körper nur eingeschränkt mit dem lebenswichtigen Sauerstoff versorgen. - Ein Besuch bei der Herzstudie Hypofon in unserer Forschungsanlage :envihab. weiterlesen
10. August 2022
Manuela Braun
Mit Atmosphärenforschung und Physik gegen Sonnenbrand
Julian Meyer-Arnek ist ein Outdoor-Fan. Und Vater einer kleinen Tochter. Und theoretischer Physiker und Atmosphärenforscher. Aus der Kombination ist vor drei Jahren etwas entstanden, dass er – unterstützt durch unser DLR Technologiemarketing – auf den Markt gebracht hat: den UV-Bodyguard, der die UV-Strahlung misst und über eine App warnt, wenn dem Nutzenden ein Sonnenbrand droht. Damit sind dann noch weitere Rollen für ihn hinzugekommen: Unternehmensgründer von und Entwickler bei ajuma GmbH. - Was der Wissenschaftler, der in unserem Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum arbeitet, dafür mitbringt, um einen UV-Bodyguard zu entwickeln, erzählt er im Interview. weiterlesen
01. August 2022
Manuela Braun
Kommunikation mit Einsen und Nullen zwischen Himmel und Erde
Unterwegs mit 700 Kilometer in der Stunde, über 10.000 Meter über dem Boden, und unten sieht man die Münchner Theresienwiese, ein großes Areal mit weißen Zeltaufbauten. Immer wieder blitzt einer der vielen Seen rund um Oberpfaffenhofen auf. Gerade fliegt die Falcon des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) an München vorbei, um dann wieder in einer großen Schleife in Richtung des Standorts Oberpfaffenhofen zurückzukehren. - Ein Mitflug bei der Testkampagne LDACS für die digitale Kommunikation zwischen Luft und Boden. weiterlesen
18. Juli 2022
Manuela Braun
Ferngesteuert durchs Hafenbecken
"Josephine" fährt langsam durch das Becken im Jarßumer Hafen auf die Kaimauer zu. Auch wenn Arne Lamm und Christian Steger vom DLR-Institut für Systems Engineering für zukünftige Mobilität mit an Bord des Forschungsboots sind - keiner der beiden hat seine Hand am Steuer oder gibt Gas. Gesteuert wird das acht Meter lange Boot von Land aus: In dem als Schiffsbrücke ausgestatteten Container hält Matthias Steidel vom DLR Kontakt mit der Bootscrew, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter Janusz Piotrowski von der Universität Oldenburg bedient die Steuerung des Boots. - Mit an Bord des Forschungsboots "Josephine" und in der Kontrollstation beim Projekt AMISIA. weiterlesen
20. Juni 2022
Manuela Braun
Robotische Assistenzsysteme mit Feingefühl
Mal eben eine Flasche greifen, die Flüssigkeit in einen Becher schütten und diesen zum Mund führen - Bewegungen, die intuitiv gemacht werden, ohne großes Überlegen: Greifen, die Flasche über den Becher halten, leicht kippen und schon läuft der Kaffee in den Becher. Aus dem Becher trinken, das geschieht nahezu automatisch. Für Menschen mit motorischen Einschränkungen, bei denen beispielsweise die Muskeln sehr schwach sind, sind schon diese sowie andere alltägliche Handlungen wie das Öffnen von Türen nicht oder kaum noch möglich. - Im Labor unseres Teams für Medizin- und Pflegerobotik. weiterlesen
28. März 2022
Manuela Braun
Zurück von der Expedition: Mit dem Eisbrecher zum Wrack der „Endurance“
Thomas Busche kann sich noch ganz exakt an den entscheidenden Moment erinnern. In den letzten Tagen hatte sich das Forschungsschiff „S.A.Agulhas II“ durch das mächtige Packeis des antarktischen Weddellmeers geschoben. Auf allen Decks war das permanente, allgegenwärtige Grollen zu hören, wenn die Eisschollen entlang der Schiffswände schrammten. Rund um die Uhr lief seit Tagen die Suche nach der „Endurance“, dem 1915 versunkenen Expeditionsschiff von Polarforscher Ernest Shackleton. - Thomas Busche erzählt von seiner Arbeit und seinem Leben an Bord des Polarschiffs. weiterlesen
20. Dezember 2021
Manuela Braun
Fahrerlos und auf Abruf unterwegs
In Science-Fiction-Filmen ist es schon längst Wirklichkeit: Ein futuristisches Auto ohne Fahrer am Steuer fährt vor, der Passagier steigt ein und wird zügig zu seinem Ziel gefahren. Reibungslos, ganz ohne Probleme schwimmt das autonome Fahrzeug im fließenden Stadtverkehr mit. Öffentlicher Nahverkehr „on demand“ - auf die individuelle Anforderung der Kundin oder des Kunden hin. So einfach ist es in der heutigen Realität aber dann doch nicht mit den autonomen Fahrsystem. - Ein Bericht über die Fahrten der beiden Mini-Busse, die für das Projekt "emoin" fast autonom durch Hamburgs Villenviertel fuhren. weiterlesen