Microgravity

A candle flame in weightlessness. Credit: DLR (CC-BY 3.0)
A candle flame in weightlessness. Credit: DLR (CC-BY 3.0)
More information

Analysis in the drop tower

What is weightlessness? What is gravity? What is weightlessness? What is gravity? Why does an apple on Earth fall to the ground and float away from an astronaut on the International Space Station? Isaac Newton wrote it: The masses of two objects gravitate towards one another. Gravity defines planets’ orbits and the structure of the universe. How can we influence this force? Can it be overcome completely here on Earth? What consequences would this have on objects in weightlessness?

Research in weightlessness – sometimes the only road to success

Astronaut Susan J. Helms on board the ISS. Credit: NASA
Astronaut Susan J. Helms on board the ISS. Credit: NASA

Because gravity masks many phenomena, experiments in weightlessness can be the only way of explaining them. The physical effects of gravity, for example, can only be discovered in an environment without it. This is an essential prerequisite if we are to find out how living organisms perceive gravity, how casting processes for modern metal alloys might be optimised and how visual perception in humans is dependent on our sense of balance. Research in weightlessness extends our knowledge of life on Earth.

Counting down to the free fall

Drop capsule with a wireless camera. Credit:  DLR
Drop capsule with a wireless camera. Credit: DLR

How can we experiment in weightlessness? Try it yourself! In a miniature drop tower we achieve 0.6 sec of weightlessness over a distance of 2 metres. Will this short period of weightlessness influence a candle flame or water? With the help of a video system you will be able to watch your experiments in slow motion. At the end of the experiment, you will understand the physical characteristics of weightlessness and also know how an astronaut manages to empty a liquid out of a container without losing a single floating droplet.

 

hidden image object
hidden image object
hidden image object
hidden image object
hidden image object
hidden image object

Schwerelosigkeit

Kerzenflamme in Schwerelosigkeit. Bild: DLR (CC-BY 3.0)
Kerzenflamme in Schwerelosigkeit. Bild: DLR (CC-BY 3.0)
Mehr zum Thema

Was ist Schwerelosigkeit? Was ist Schwerkraft? Warum fällt auf der Erde ein Apfel herunter und warum schwebt er dem Astronauten auf der Internationalen Raumstation ISS vor der Nase herum? Isaac Newton hat herausgefunden: Die Massen zweier Körper ziehen sich gegenseitig an. Die Massenanziehungskraft bestimmt auch die Bahnen der Planeten und die Struktur unseres Weltalls. Wie kann man diese Kraft beeinflussen? Lässt sich die Schwerkraft auf der Erde sogar ganz überwinden? Und welche Folgen ergeben sich für Objekte in der Schwerelosigkeit?

Forschen in Schwerelosigkeit – oft der einzige Weg zum Ziel

Astronautin Samantha Cristoforetti auf der ISS. Bild: ESA
Astronautin Samantha Cristoforetti auf der ISS. Bild: ESA

Auf der Erde überdeckt die allgegenwärtige Schwerkraft viele Phänomene und physikalische Effekte. Will man diese exakt messen, gelingt das manchmal nur in der Schwerelosigkeit.

Wie nehmen Lebewesen die Schwerkraft wahr? Auf welche Weise beeinflusst der Gleichgewichtssinn die visuelle Wahrnehmung des Menschen? Wie kann man ohne die störende Schwerkraft untersuchen, was in flüssigen Metallschmelzen passiert – und wie führen solche Experimente zu besseren Verfahren bei der industriellen Produktion? Das sind nur wenige Beispiele dafür, wie das Forschen in Schwerelosigkeit unser Wissen erweitert.

Countdown zum freien Fall

Fallkapsel mit eingebauter Funkkamera. Bild:  DLR
Fallkapsel mit eingebauter Funkkamera. Bild: DLR

Untersucht es selbst: In einem Mini-Fallturm entsteht auf zwei Metern Fallstrecke für 0,6 Sekunden Schwerelosigkeit. Beeinflusst diese kurze Zeit schon die Flamme einer Kerze oder die Oberfläche von Wasser? Mit einem Videosystem könnt ihr die Geschehnisse in Zeitlupe verfolgen. Ihr werdet genauer verstehen, was Schwerelosigkeit ist, und am Ende eurer Forschung sicher auch wissen, warum die Astronauten aufpassen müssen, dass Ihnen bei den Mahlzeiten oder beim Waschen keine Flüssigkeitstropfen davonschweben.

hidden image object
hidden image object
hidden image object
hidden image object
hidden image object
hidden image object