Ministry of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony

The Test Bed Lower Saxony is a flagship project for mobility research in Germany. Here, the conditions are being created for autonomous vehicles to be able to travel safely, efficiently and sustainably on our roads. The test bed offers a unique platform for researching and developing new technologies that will help to realise the transport revolution. In this way, we are driving innovation and promoting the creation of jobs in a pioneering field.

Falko Mohrs, Minister for Science and Culture of Lower Saxony

The Ministry of Science and Culture (MWK) is responsible for all of the state's universities, the majority of non-university research institutions, state museums, state theatres and Lower Saxony's academic libraries.

Lower Saxony has a diverse and vibrant research landscape with 13 universities, 15 universities of applied sciences (seven of which are state-run) and a large number of non-university research institutions. For example, Lower Saxony is home to six Max Planck Institutes, four Fraunhofer Institutes, three Helmholtz Association sites and seven Leibniz Association institutions.

The state theatres in Hanover, Braunschweig and Oldenburg as well as the Lower Saxony State Museums in Hanover, Braunschweig and Oldenburg are renowned Lower Saxony art and cultural institutions within the Ministry's remit. The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Library, the Herzog August Library in Wolfenbüttel and the Technical Information Library in Hanover are also of particular importance. The MWK supports the work of these institutions and contributes to their funding.

More information here.