eROSITA mirror module

eROSITA mirror module
Credit: P. Friedrich/MPE

The first core component of the eROSITA space telescope consists of seven identical mirror modules aligned in parallel. Each has a diameter of 36 centimetres and consists of 54 nested mirror shells whose surface is composed of a paraboloid and a hyperboloid (Wolter I optics). They collect high-energy photons and focus them onto the X-ray cameras.      

More galleries

Use of cookies


Main menu