World record in free-space optical communications

03 November 2016

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • THRUST
    On the mountain: Data reception preparation

    THRUST Project Leader Juraj Poliak with the THRUST reception terminal developed by the DLR Institute of Communications and Navigation, which was deployed during the long-distance experiment at the German Weather Service in Hohenpeißenberg.

  • Sendestation im Tal
    In the valley: Laser transmission preparation

    DLR scientist Ramon Mata Calvo with the THRUST transmission terminal developed by the DLR Institute of Communications and Navigation, which was deployed during the long-distance experiment at DLR’s site in Weilheim.

  • Rekord%2dDatenübertragung
    Record data transmission

    Successful reception of 1.72 Tbit/s across 10.45 kilometres. Researchers from the DLR Institute of Communications and Navigation analysing the data together with the researcher from the Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute in Berlin, responsible for data generation and demodulation.

  • Laser%2dSendeterminal
    Laser transmission terminal

    The THRUST transmission terminal developed by the DLR Institute of Communications and Navigation, which was deployed during the long-distance experiment at DLR’s site in Weilheim.

  • Laser%2dEmpfangsterminal
    Laser reception terminal

    The THRUST reception terminal enables light to be coupled into the 10 micrometre optical fibres after travelling 10.45 kilometres.

DLR technology is leading the way to global high-speed Internet

Researchers at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) have set a new record in data transmission using laser: 1.72 terabits per second across a distance of 10.45 kilometres, which is equivalent to the transmission of 45 DVDs per second. This means that large parts of the still under-served rural areas in Western Europe could be supplied with broadband Internet services. "We have set ourselves the goal of enabling Internet access at high data rates outside major cities, and want to demonstrate how this is possible using satellites," explains Christoph Günther, Director of the DLR Institute of Communications and Navigation.

Fibre-optic links and other terrestrial systems offer high transmission rates, but are available predominantly in densely populated regions. Outside of the metropolitan centres a broadband supply via geostationary satellites is possible. This is where the scientists come in, with the development of an innovative transmission technology for next-generation communications satellites as part of the DLR THRUST (Terabit-throughput optical satellite system technology) project. The idea behind THRUST: The satellites should be connected to the terrestrial Internet via a laser link. The envisaged data throughput is more than one terabit per second. Communication with the users is then carried out in the Ka-band, a standard radio frequency for satellite communications.

1.72 terabits – world records across two distances

The first transmission attempts with such high data rates took place at the end of October in Upper Bavaria, with the scientists at DLR setting a record during the very first step. Along a route between Oberpfaffenhofen and Hochstadt, they achieved a world first when they succeeded in transmitting 1.72 terabits per second (Tbit/s) across a distance of three kilometres in free space. "The high stability of reception and the power reserves we had in the experiment across three kilometres encouraged us to take the next step," says project leader Juraj Poliak from the DLR Institute of Communications and Navigation.

The data link between the ground and geostationary satellites is affected by the characteristics of Earth's atmosphere. Poliak and his team therefore developed a maximum load test for their system, which they established in simulations: The data link to space has, at its worst, the same interference as that encountered when transmitting across more than 10.45-km-long from ground to mountain in the test area between Weilheim and Hohenpeißenberg. The team performed the next set of experiments with the laser communication system along this route – with great success.

Global high-speed Internet – possible

After demonstrating feasibility in the 'worst case' scenario, the main focus of the DLR scientists is now on the stability of the optical link. In a next phase, the scientists will therefore take measurements to better understand the effect of the atmosphere and enable stable, long-term laser communication with the satellite. "The stability of the connection is extremely important, as even a short interruption of only milliseconds can lead to the loss several 10 gigabits of data," explains Ramon Mata Calvo, head of the Optical Technologies Group at the DLR Institute of Communications and Navigation. With the new records, the scientists have successfully demonstrated that the vision of wireless optical data transmission in the terabit range is possible. Within the framework of the experiments, a fibre-optic transmission system of the Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute was employed which operates at wavelengths of around 1550 nanometres and which is suitable for high data rates. This system was integrated into DLR's newly developed free-space optic transmission system. Employees of the Heinrich Hertz Institute supported the on-site tests. The very promising investigations are now being continued at DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen.

Last modified:
11/11/2016 14:44:53

Contacts

 

Bernadette Jung
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Public Affairs and Communications: Oberpaffenhofen, Weilheim, Augsburg

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2251

Fax: +49 8153 28-1243
Dr Juraj Poliak
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Communications and Navigation

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1470

DLR-Technologie weist Weg zum globalen Highspeed-Internet

Weltrekord in der optischen Freiraum-Datenübertragung

Donnerstag, 3. November 2016

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • THRUST
    Auf dem Berg: Vorbereitung des Datenempfangs

    Der THRUST Projektleiter Dr. Juraj Poliak mit dem THRUST Empfangsterminal entwickelt vom Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation des DLR. Eingesetzt während des Langstreckenexperiments am Deutschen Wetterdienst am Hohenpeißenberg.

  • Sendestation im Tal
    Im Tal: Vorbereitung der Laserübertragung

    DLR-Wissenschaftler Dr. Ramon Mata Calvo mit dem THRUST Sendeterminal entwickelt vom Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation des DLR. Eingesetzt während des Langstreckenexperiments am DLR Standort Weilheim

  • Rekord%2dDatenübertragung
    Rekord-Datenübertragung

    Erfolgreicher Empfang von 1,72 Tbit/s über 10,45 km. Die Forscher vom Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation des DLR bei der Analyse der Daten zusammen mit dem Forscher vom Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institut aus Berlin, welche für die Datenerzeugung und deren Demodulation zuständig waren

  • Laser%2dSendeterminal
    Laser-Sendeterminal

    Das THRUST Sendeterminal entwickelt vom Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation des DLR. Eingesetzt während des Langstreckenexperiments am DLR Standort Weilheim.

  • Laser%2dEmpfangsterminal
    Laser-Empfangsterminal

    Das THRUST Empfangsterminal schafft, dass das Licht nach 10,45 km in die 10 μm große optische Faser eingekoppelt wird.

Wissenschaftler des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) haben einen neuen Rekord in der Datenübertragung per Laser aufgestellt: 1,72 Terabit pro Sekunde über eine Freiraumdistanz von 10,45 Kilometer – dies entspricht einer Übertragung von 45 DVDs pro Sekunde. Damit könnten weite Teile der heute noch unterversorgten ländlichen Gebiete Westeuropas mit Breitbandinternet versorgt werden. "Wir haben uns zum Ziel gesetzt den Internetzugang mit hohen Datenraten auch außerhalb der Ballungsgebiete zu ermöglichen und wollen zeigen, wie dies mit Satelliten möglich ist", erklärt Prof. Christoph Günther, Direktor des DLR-Instituts für Kommunikation und Navigation.

Glasfaserverbindungen und andere terrestrische Systeme bieten hohe Übertragungsgeschwindigkeiten, sind jedoch vorwiegend in dicht besiedelten Regionen verfügbar. Außerhalb der Ballungszentren bietet sich eine breitbandige Versorgung über geostationäre Satelliten an. Hier setzen die Wissenschaftler an und entwickelten im Rahmen des DLR-Projekts THRUST (Terabit-throughput optical satellite system technology) eine neuartige Übertragungstechnologie für Kommunikationssatelliten der nächsten Generation. Die Idee von THRUST: Die Satelliten sollen über eine Laserverbindung an das terrestrische Internet angebunden werden. Dabei werden Datendurchsätze jenseits von ein Terabit pro Sekunde angestrebt. Die Kommunikation mit den Nutzern erfolgt dann im Ka-Band, einer üblichen Funkfrequenz der Satellitenkommunikation. 

1,72 Terabit pro Sekunde – Weltrekorde über zwei Distanzen

Erste Übertragungsversuche mit solch hohen Datenraten fanden Ende Oktober in Oberbayern statt. Bereits im ersten Schritt konnten die DLR-Wissenschaftler einen Rekord aufstellen. Auf einer Strecke zwischen Oberpfaffenhofen und Hochstadt gelang ihnen weltweit zum ersten Mal die Übertragung von 1,72 Terabit pro Sekunde (Tbit/s) über eine Distanz von drei Kilometern im freien Raum. „Die hohe Stabilität des Empfangs und die Leistungsreserven, die wir bei drei Kilometern hatten, ermutigten uns dann den nächsten Schritt zu wagen“, berichtet Projektleiter Dr. Juraj Poliak vom DLR-Instituts für Kommunikation und Navigation.

Die Datenverbindung zwischen Boden und geostationärem Satelliten wird durch die Eigenschaften der Erdatmosphäre beeinträchtigt. Dr. Poliak und sein Team haben daher einen maximalen Belastungstest für ihr System entwickelt und in Simulationen festgestellt: Die Datenverbindung ins All weist im schlimmsten Fall in etwa die gleichen Störungen auf, die auch bei einer Übertragung über 10 Kilometern vom Boden zu einem Berg im Testgebiet zwischen Weilheim und dem Hohenpeißenberg auftreten. Auf dieser Strecke führte das Team die nächsten Versuche mit dem Laserkommunikationssystem durch – mit Erfolg.

Machbar – globales Highspeed Internet

Nach dem Nachweis der Machbarkeit im "Worst Case"-Szenario gilt das Hauptaugenmerk der DLR-Wissenschaftler nun der Stabilität der optischen Verbindung. In einer nächsten Phase werden die Wissenschaftler daher Messungen durchführen, um die Wirkung der Atmosphäre besser zu verstehen und langfristig eine stabile Laserkommunikation zum Satelliten zu ermöglichen. "Die Stabilität der Verbindung ist extrem wichtig, da selbst eine kurze Unterbrechung von lediglich zehn Millisekunden zum Verlust von mehreren Gigabit an Daten führt", erklärt Dr. Ramon Mata Calvo, Leiter der Gruppe "Optische Technologien" am DLR-Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation. Mit den neuen Rekorden konnten die Wissenschaftler erfolgreich zeigen, dass die Vision einer optischen drahtlosen Datenübertragung im Terabit-Bereich machbar ist. Im Rahmen der Versuche kam ein, für höchste Datenraten geeignetes, Glasfaserübertragungssystem des Fraunhofer Heinrich-Hertz-Instituts zum Einsatz, das bei Wellenlängen rund um 1550 Nanonmeter operiert. Dieses wurde in das am DLR neu entwickelte Freistrahlübertragungssystem integriert. Mitarbeiter des Heinrich-Hertz-Instituts haben die Versuche vor Ort erfolgreich unterstützt. Die vielversprechenden Untersuchungen werden am DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen nun mit Nachdruck fortgesetzt.

Zuletzt geändert am:
07.11.2016 15:19:47 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Bernadette Jung
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Politikbeziehungen und Kommunikation: Oberpfaffenhofen, Weilheim, Augsburg

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2251

Fax: +49 8153 28-1243
Dr. Juraj Poliak
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt

DLR-Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1470