Leopoldina Early Career Award 2018

DLR Earth observer Xiaoxiang Zhu wins prize for her achievements

04 September 2018

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Prof. Dr. Xiaoxiang Zhu vom Earth Observation Center des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen
    Professor Xiaoxiang Zhu of DLR’s Earth Observation Centre in Oberpfaffenhofen

    Xiaoxiang Zhu works at the DLR Earth Observation Center in Oberpfaffenhofen, where she heads the EO Data Science department at the Remote Sensing Technology Institute. Among other things, she is researching the linking of satellite Earth observation data with social media data.

  • 3D%2dGebäudemodell LoD1
    3D LoD1 model

    First impression of the global 3D urban LOD1 models: Munich city reconstructed using only five TanDEM-X acquisitions. The building footprints have been reconstructed from optical data, and the building heights (colour) from the TomoSAR point cloud.

  • Projekt So2Sat im Überblick
    Project So2Sat

    The ERC Project So2Sat in a nutshell. To better understand global urbanisation, together with her team, Xiaoxiang Zhu combines Big Earth Data from satellite and social media to derive a first and unique global and consistent 3D/4D spatial data set on the urban morphology.

  • Xiaoxiang Zhu of the Earth Observation Center in Oberpfaffenhofen has been awarded the Leopoldina Early Career Award 2018
  • The DLR scientist researches artificial intelligence for remote sensing and is a pioneer in the research field of deep learning in Earth observation
  • Focus: space travel, Earth observation, Big Data, people at DLR

Xiaoxiang Zhu of the Remote Sensing Technology Institute at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) has been awarded the 30,000 euro Leopoldina Early Career Award 2018. The German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina honours her for her outstanding achievements in satellite-based Earth observation, focused on mapping worldwide urbanisation and assessing natural hazards.
 
"At the age of 33, Professor Zhu is already an eminent and internationally renowned scientist in the field of mathematical signal processing techniques and Earth observation, with a focus on tracking urban areas and civil infrastructure. She has had an exceptional meteoric career so far," stated the jury. Xiaoxiang Zhu heads the Earth Observation Data Science Department at the DLR site in Oberpfaffenhohen. She is also a professor at the Department of Civil, Geo and Environmental Engineering at the Technical University of Munich. Zhu joined the faculty in 2015, becoming one of the youngest professors in Germany at the age of 30.

As part of her research, the DLR scientist maps cities using satellite-based Earth observation. Climate change and urbanisation are among the most severe challenges faced by our planet. Satellite data is evaluated in order to track such developments. Zhu has developed new radar techniques and algorithms for this purpose, and supplements this data with information from social networks. In order to analyse large quantities of data from such a vast array of sources, Zhu uses machine learning with deep neural networks to automatically detect and evaluate images. This work has made Zhu a pioneer in the field of deep learning applied to Earth observation.

Zhu will be presented with the Early Career Award 2018 at the Leopoldina annual assembly, which will take place in Halle (Saale) on 21 September 2018. The award is sponsored by the Commerzbank Foundation.

  • Information

    The DLR scientist studied Aerospace Engineering in Changsha, China, and successfully completed the Earth Oriented Space Science and Technology (ESPACE) study programme in Munich. She received her doctorate from the Technical University of Munich in 2011, where she became a professor in 2013. As part of her doctorate, she was the first to use radar satellite signals to create reconstructions of buildings and traffic routes. She was presented with the Dimitris N. Chorofas Foundation Research Award for her work in 2011. In 2015, she was also awarded the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize, Technology Review magazine’s ‘Best Innovators under 35’ prize and the Helene Lange Prize for her work. In 2016 she won the Early Career Award from the IEEE Geoscience & Remote Sensing Society and the Science Prize from the German Aerospace Center (DLR). She was awarded one of the prestigious ERC Starting Grants in 2017.

Last modified:
12/09/2018 14:23:07

Contacts

 

Philipp Burtscheidt
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Media Relations

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2323

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249

Mehr über das DLR

Leopoldina Early Career Award 2018

DLR-Erdbeobachterin Zhu erhält Preis für ihre Leistungen

Dienstag, 4. September 2018

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Prof. Dr. Xiaoxiang Zhu vom Earth Observation Center des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen
    Prof. Dr. Xiaoxiang Zhu vom Earth Observation Center des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen

    Xiaoxiang Zhu arbeitet am Earth Observation Center des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen und leitet dort die Abteilung EO Data Science am Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung. Sie erforscht unter anderem die Verknüpfung von satellitengestützten Erdbeobachtungsdaten mit Daten aus sozialen Netzwerken.

  • Übergabe des Early Career Awards 2018 an Prof. Dr. Xiaoxiang Zhu
    Übergabe des Early Career Awards 2018 an Prof. Dr. Xiaoxiang Zhu

    Von links: Leopoldina-Präsident Jörg Hacker, Leopoldina-Präsidiumsmitglied Frank Rösler, Preisträgerin Xiaoxiang Zhu, Jan-Hendrik Olbertz, beratendes Mitglied im Stiftungsrat der Commerzbank-Stiftung.

  • 3D%2dGebäudemodell LoD1
    3D-Gebäudemodell LoD1

    Erste Eindrücke von den weltweiten, urbanen LOD1-Modellen in 3D: München wurde mit nur fünf TanDEM-X-Aufnahmen rekonstruiert. Die Grundflächen der Gebäude wurden aus optischen Daten rekonstruiert und die Höhen (Farben) aus der Punktwolke von TomoSAR.

  • Projekt So2Sat im Überblick
    Projekt So2Sat im Überblick

    Das ERC Projekt So2Sat: Für das bessere Verständnis der globalen Urbanisierung kombiniert Xiaoxiang Zhu gemeinsam mit ihrem Team Big Earth Data von Satelliten und aus sozialen Medien, um den ersten und einzigartigen globalen und konsistenten 3D/4D-Geodatensatz über die urbane Morphologie abzuleiten.)

  • Xiaoxiang Zhu vom Earth Observation Center in Oberpfaffenhofen erhält Leopoldina Early Career Award 2018.
  • Die DLR-Wissenschaftlerin arbeitet an der Erforschung von künstlicher Intelligenz für die Fernerkundung und ist eine Pionierin auf dem Forschungsgebiet des Deep Learnings in der Erdbeobachtung.
  • Schwerpunkt(e): Raumfahrt, Erdbeobachtung, Big Data, Menschen im DLR

Prof. Dr. Xiaoxiang Zhu vom Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) erhält den mit 30.000 Euro dotierten Leopoldina Early Career Award 2018. Die Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina ehrt sie damit für ihre herausragenden Leistungen in der satellitengestützten Erdbeobachtung zur Erfassung der weltweiten Urbanisierung sowie von Naturgefahren.
 
"Professor Zhu ist mit ihren 33 Jahren bereits eine herausragende und international anerkannte Wissenschaftlerin auf dem Gebiet der mathematischen Signalverarbeitungsverfahren und Erdbeobachtung mit einem Schwerpunkt auf der Erfassung urbaner Gebiete und baulicher Infrastruktur. Sie hat bis dato eine außergewöhnlich rasante Karriere verfolgt", lautet die Begründung der Jury. Xiaoxiang Zhu leitet am DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen die Abteilung Earth Observation Data Science. Außerdem lehrt sie an der Ingenieurfakultät Bau Geo Umwelt der Technischen Universität München. Zhu folgte dem Ruf der Hochschule 2015 und wurde mit 30 Jahren eine der jüngsten Professorinnen in Deutschland.

Im Rahmen ihrer Forschung kartiert die DLR-Wissenschaftlerin Städte mithilfe von satellitengestützter Erdbeobachtung. Klimawandel und Urbanisierung gehören zu den gravierenden Phänomenen des globalen Wandels. Um die Entwicklungen zu erfassen, werden Satellitendaten ausgewertet. Dafür entwickelte Zhu neue Radarverfahren und Algorithmen. Diese Daten ergänzt sie um Informationen aus sozialen Netzwerken. Um derart große Datenmengen aus so unterschiedlichen Quellen analysieren zu können, nutzt Zhu maschinelles Lernen mit tiefen neuronalen Netzwerken zur automatischen Erkennung und Auswertung von Bildern. Durch diese Arbeit wurde Zhu zur Pionierin auf dem Gebiet des Deep Learnings in der Erdbeobachtung.

Verliehen wird Zhu der Early Career Award 2018 bei der Jahresversammlung der Leopoldina am 21. September 2018 in Halle (Saale). Gefördert wird der Preis von der Commerzbank-Stiftung.

  • Info

    Die DLR-Wissenschaftlerin studierte Raumfahrttechnik in Changsha, China, und absolvierte in München den Studiengang Earth Oriented Space Science and Technology (ESPACE). 2011 wurde sie an der Technischen Universität München promoviert und habilitierte dort im Jahr 2013. In ihrer Promotion konnte sie erstmals aus Radarsatellitensignalen Rekonstruktionen von Gebäuden und Verkehrswegen nachweisen. Dafür wurde sie 2011 mit dem Dimitris N. Chorofas Foundation Research Award ausgezeichnet. Außerdem erhielt sie im Jahr 2015 für ihre Arbeit den Heinz-Maier-Leibnitz-Preis, den Preis "Best Innovators Under 35" des Magazins Technology Review sowie den Helene-Lange-Preis. 2016 wurde ihr der Early Career Award der IEEE Geoscience & Remote Sensing Society sowie der Wissenschaftspreis des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) verliehen. 2017 warb sie einen der renommierten ERC Starting Grants ein.

Zuletzt geändert am:
21.09.2018 14:29:22 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Philipp Burtscheidt
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Media Relations

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2323

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249