The DLR site in Stuttgart

Symposium E2Flight 2019

Emission-free electric flight – current projects and technologies

28 March 2019

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Elektrisches Fliegen %2d emissionsfrei, mit neuem Look und leiser
    Electric flight – emission-free, with a new look and quieter

    Electric flight combines several advantages; it is locally emission-free, quieter, and makes completely new mobility options possible.

  • DLR is one of the pioneers in the field of electric flight and has all the expertise required for the electrification of air transport.
  • The E2Flight symposium is a forum for regular meetings of the industry’s international community.
  • This year’s focus was on concepts for electric flight, hybrid propulsion systems, technical and certification aspects, and propulsion integration based on current projects.
  • Focus: Aeronautics, energy, electric flight, electromobility

Electric flight opens up a new dimension in aviation and offers unprecedented opportunities for sustainable mobility in the future. A growing number of projects in both research institutions and industry are investigating how electric – and thus emission-free and low-noise – aircraft concepts can be implemented and which application scenarios are the most promising.

The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) is a pioneer in the field of electric flight. It is unique in Europe in the way it combines fundamental and application-oriented research in this field. DLR brings together all the expertise required for the electrification of air transport. This includes battery and fuel cell technologies, expertise in electric propulsion, the integration of alternative propulsion systems into aircraft, and flight testing and overall system assessment.

E2Flight – the industry's specialist conference

The 'E2Flight' symposium, organised by the DLR Institute of Engineering Thermodynamics in cooperation with the Institute of Aircraft Design at the University of Stuttgart, is the industry's specialist conference. It has en eye on the pulse of the latest developments and this year brought together the international community to discuss the theme of electric flight for the fourth time. On 28 and 29 March 2019, more than 120 representatives from research institutions and industry exchanged information on the topic of electric flight in Leinfelden-Echterdingen, near Stuttgart. This year's symposium focused on concepts for for electric flight, hybrid propulsion systems, technical and certification aspects, and propulsion integration based on current projects.

Why electric flight?

Andreas Klöckner, the coordinator for electric flight at DLR explains its three advantages. "First of all, purely electric flight is locally emission-free, which means that the aircraft itself does not emit any pollutants. Second, both production and maintenance of electric propulsion systems are expected to cost less, thanks to the reduced number of moving parts. And the third advantage is that electric propulsion enables completely new aircraft configurations, which should further reduce fuel consumption, emissions and noise levels." Against this backdrop, completely new transport services, such as air taxis, will also be possible in the near future.

A growing industry

"The industry has definitely recognised the potential of electric flight, as is very clear at present," says Josef Kallo, a DLR researcher and co-founder of the symposium. For the next few years, he expects to see strong growth: "Almost all the major manufacturers of aircraft, propulsion systems and turbines are already active in this area. Funding agencies in Germany and Europe have also recognised the potential, and are authorising and providing support for various projects." According to Kallo, the focus is on projects with outputs of between one and two megawatts. This would make it possible to develop aircraft capable of carrying 20 to 40 or 50 passengers on short and regional routes. In this sector, the DLR scientist is counting on new ideas, technologies and projects to emerge from Europe and America. "There is certainly a palpable sense of optimism," he says. "Science and industry are investigating the possibilities of existing technologies, investing in their development, and intensifying and professionalising their work beyond small research projects."

Kallo himself is responsible for the DLR’s HY4 – the world's first four-seat passenger aircraft powered by a hydrogen fuel cell took off for the first time in 2016. His team is currently equipping the research aircraft with a completely new propulsion system in order to begin further flights in the autumn of 2019. The plan is to at least double the performance of the fuel cell over time, and to store hydrogen three times more efficiently. Corresponding research projects have already started, and the team has already completed several laboratory tests, with positive results.

Electric flight – a new look, and therefore quieter

Aircraft noise will be one of the limiting factors for the air transport system of the future. There are already restrictions at most airports, for example at night. Quiet aircraft eliminate the negative health effects of noise and make it possible to meet the ever-increasing demand for mobility. In flight, regardless of the type of propulsion, noise is mainly due to aerodynamic factors: sound is generated by the propeller rotors or jet engines and by the airflows around the airframe. "Electric propulsion systems are not in themselves always quiet. Nevertheless, there is considerable potential for noise reduction – although this will require intensive research over the next few years," explains researcher Jan Werner Delfs from the DLR Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology in Braunschweig. "With electrically powered aircraft, the arrangement and distribution of engines on the plane, and their operation, can be rethought from scratch," adds Delfs. The aircraft can be designed much more freely together with many small, distributed electric engines. For example, the shape of the wings could be optimised and the rudder made substantially smaller or completely eliminated. DLR researchers are already investigating what such alternative aircraft architectures could look like. They are currently using digital modelling to develop and evaluate innovative concepts for hybrid electric propulsion aircraft operating on short and regional routes.

Last modified:
29/03/2019 15:20:40

Contacts

 

Denise Nüssle
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Public Affairs and Communications, Stuttgart site

Tel.: +49 711 6862-8086

Fax: +49 711 6862-636
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Josef Kallo
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Engineering Thermodynamics, Coordinator Energy Systems Integration

Tel.: +49 711 6862-672

Fax: +49 711 6862-747

Der DLR-Standort Stuttgart

Symposium E2Flight 2019

Emissionsfrei elektrisch Fliegen: Aktuelle Projekte und Technologien

Donnerstag, 28. März 2019

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Elektrisches Fliegen %2d emissionsfrei, mit neuem Look und leiser
    Elektrisches Fliegen - emissionsfrei, mit neuem Look und leiser

    Elektrischs Fliegen vereint mehrere Vorteile: Es ist lokal emissionsfrei, leiser und ermöglicht völlig neue Mobilitätsangebote.

  • Das DLR gehört zu den Vorreitern im Bereich des elektrischen Fliegens und bringt alle für die Elektrifizierung des Luftverkehrs notwendigen Kompetenzen zusammen.
  • Auf dem Symposium E2Flight trifft sich regelmäßig die internationale Community der Branche.
  • Dieses Jahr standen Konzepte für elektrisches Fliegen, hybride Antriebssysteme, technische und Zulassungsaspekte sowie die Antriebsintegration anhand aktueller Projekte im Vordergrund.
  • Schwerpunkt(e): Luftfahrt, Energie, Elektrisches Fliegen, Elektromobilität

Elektrisches Fliegen eröffnet eine neue Dimension der Luftfahrt und bietet ungekannte Chancen für die nachhaltige Mobilität der Zukunft. Eine wachsende Anzahl an Projekten aus Forschung und Industrie gehen der Frage nach, wie sich elektrische und damit emissionsfreie und geräuscharme Flugzeugkonzepte realisieren lassen und welche Anwendungsszenarien erfolgsversprechend sind.

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) gehört zu den Vorreitern im Bereich des elektrischen Fliegens. Auf europaweit einmalige Weise bündelt es die grundlagen- und anwendungsorientierte Forschung auf diesem Gebiet. Alle für die Elektrifizierung des Luftverkehrs notwendigen Kompetenzen kommen im DLR zusammen: Dazu gehören Batterie- und Brennstoffzellentechnologie, Know-how zu elektrischen Antrieben, die Integration alternativer Antriebssysteme ins Flugzeug ebenso wie die Flugerprobung und die Gesamtsystembewertung.

E2Flight – die Fachkonferenz der Branche

Das vom DLR-Institut für Technische Thermodynamik gemeinsam mit dem Institut für Flugzeugbau der Universität Stuttgart veranstaltete Symposium "E2Flight" ist die Fachkonferenz der Branche. Sie hat den Finger am Puls der neusten Entwicklungen und brachte in diesem Jahr zum vierten Mal die internationale Community zum Thema elektrisches Fliegen zusammen. Am 28. und 29. März 2019 tauschten sind mehr als 120 Vertreter aus Wissenschaft und Industrie zum Thema elektrisches Fliegen in Leinfelden-Echterdingen nahe Stuttgart aus. Zu den Schwerpunkten des Symposiums gehörten in diesem Jahr unter anderem Konzepte für elektrisches Fliegen, hybride Antriebssysteme, technische und Zulassungsaspekte sowie die Antriebsintegration anhand aktueller Projekte.

Warum überhaupt elektrisch Fliegen?

Elektrisches Fliegen verspricht im Wesentlichen drei Vorteile, beschreibt Dr.-Ing. Andreas Klöckner, Koordinator für Elektrisches Fliegen beim DLR: "Als erstes ist rein elektrisches Fliegen lokal emissionsfrei. Das bedeutet, das Flugzeug selbst stößt keine Schadstoffe aus. Als zweites ist zu erwarten, dass die elektrischen Antriebssysteme dank der geringeren Anzahl beweglicher Teile auch weniger Kosten bei Herstellung und Wartung verursachen. Und der dritte Vorteil: elektrische Antriebe ermöglichen komplett neue Flugzeugkonfigurationen, die den Treibstoffverbrauch und damit die Emissionen sowie die Lärmentwicklung weiter reduzieren dürften." Vor diesem Hintergrund rücken in naher Zukunft auch völlig neue Transportleistungen in den Bereich des Möglichen, wie beispielsweise Lufttaxis.

Eine Branche im Aufschwung

"Die Branche hat das Potenzial von elektrischem Fliegen definitiv erkannt, das sieht man aktuell sehr deutlich", fasst Prof. Josef Kallo, DLR-Forscher und Mitbegründer des Symposiums zusammen. Für die nächsten Jahre erwartet er einen starken Aufwuchs: Fast alle großen Hersteller von Flugzeugen, Antrieben und Turbinen sind bereits aktiv auf diesem Bereich. Auch die Fördergeber in Deutschland und Europa haben das Potenzial erkannt, genehmigen und unterstützen diverse Vorhaben. Im Fokus stehen – laut Josef Kallo – Projekte mit Leistungsgrößen zwischen einem und zwei Megawatt. Damit ließen sich Flugzeuge mit 20 bis 40 oder 50 Passagieren für Kurz- und Regionalstrecken realisieren. In diesem Segment rechnet der DLR-Wissenschaftler mit einigen neuen Ideen, Technologien und Projekten in Europa und Amerika: "Es ist durchaus eine Aufbruchsstimmung zu spüren. Wissenschaft und Industrie untersuchen, was mit vorhandenen Technologien möglich ist, investieren in deren Weiterentwicklung, intensivieren und professionalisieren ihre Arbeit über kleine Forschungsprojekte hinaus."

Kallo selbst betreut die vom DLR genutzte Forschungsplattform HY4: Das weltweit erste viersitzige Passagierflugzeug mit einem Wasserstoff-Brennstoffzellenantrieb hob im Jahr 2016 zum ersten Mal ab. Aktuell rüstet das Team um Josef Kallo das Forschungsflugzeug mit einem komplett neuen Antriebssystem aus, um im Herbst 2019 zu weiteren Flügen zu starten. Der Plan ist, nach und nach die Leistungsfähigkeit der Brennstoffzelle mindestens zu verdoppeln und Wasserstoff drei Mal so effizient zu speichern. Entsprechende Forschungsprojekte sind bereits gestartet, bereits absolvierte Laborversuche stimmen das Team positiv.

Elektrisch Fliegen – mit neuem Look und dadurch leiser

Fluglärm wird in Zukunft einer der limitierenden Faktoren beim Flugverkehr sein. Schon heute gibt es an den meisten Flughäfen Einschränkungen, zum Beispiel in den Nachtstunden. Leise Flugzeuge beseitigen die negativen gesundheitlichen Auswirkungen von Lärm und ermöglichen es, dem weiter steigenden Mobilitätsbedarf nachzukommen. Im Flug ist die Geräuschentwicklung, unabhängig von der Antriebsart, vorwiegend aerodynamisch bedingt: Schall entsteht an den Rotoren der Propeller oder Strahltriebwerke und bei der Umströmung der Flugzeugzelle. "Elektrische Antriebe sind dabei nicht immer und von selbst leise. Trotzdem ist erhebliches Lärmminderungspotenzial denkbar – dazu ist in den nächsten Jahren intensive Forschungsarbeit notwendig", erklärt DLR-Forscher Prof. Jan Werner Delfs vom Institut für Aerodynamik und Strömungstechnik in Braunschweig. "Denn bei elektrisch angetriebenen Flugzeugen kann die Anordnung und Verteilung von Triebwerken am Flugzeug und deren Betrieb ganz neu gedacht werden", so Delfs weiter. Das Flugzeugdesign kann wesentlich freier erfolgen in Verbindung mit vielen kleinen, verteilten elektrischen Triebwerken. So könnte zum Beispiel die Form der Tragflächen optimiert werden, das Seitenruder wesentlich kleiner aus- oder ganz wegfallen. Wie diese alternativen Flugzeugarchitekturen aussehen könnten, auch daran arbeiten die Wissenschaftler des DLR bereits. Aktuell entwickeln und bewerten sie mit Hilfe digitaler Modellierungen innovative Konzepte für Flugzeuge mit hybridelektrischem Antrieb für Kurz- und Regionalstrecken.

 

Zuletzt geändert am:
03.04.2019 11:26:02 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Denise Nüssle
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Politikbeziehungen und Kommunikation, Standort Stuttgart

Tel.: +49 711 6862-8086

Fax: +49 711 6862-636
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Josef Kallo
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Technische Thermodynamik, Koordinator Gruppe Energiesystemintegration

Tel.: +49 711 6862-672

Fax: +49 711 6862-747