Space

Hyperspectral Earth observation instrument DESIS sets off for the ISS

29 June 2018

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Hyperspektrales Sensorsystem
    Hyperspectral sensor system

    DESIS acquires image data on 235 closely spaced channels from the visual to the infrared spectrum (between 400 and 1000 nanometers).

  • DESIS %2d Hyperspektrales Erdbeobachtungsinstrument auf der ISS
    DESIS - Hyperspectral Earth Observation Instrument on the ISS

    The DESIS (DLR Earth Sensing Imaging System Spectrometer) environmental and resource monitoring system will send a wide range of data to Earth.

  • The DESIS spectrometer has been launched to the ISS from Cape Canaveral on a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket
  • DESIS will be deployed on the MUSES instrument platform, from where it will observe the Earth and provide hyperspectral data to support scientific, humanitarian and commercial objectives
  • Focus: Earth observation, space

The DLR Earth Sensing Imaging Spectrometer (DESIS) – an environmental and resource monitoring system from the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) – set off for the International Space Station (ISS) at 05:42 EDT (11:42 CEST) on 29 June 2018. The Dragon capsule carrying DESIS launched from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station on a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket. The hyperspectral instrument was developed by the DLR Institute of Optical Sensor Systems in cooperation with the US company Teledyne Brown Engineering (TBE) in order to monitor the environment and resources on Earth..

After arriving at the ISS, the instrument will be unpacked and prepared for use on the Multiple User System for Earth Sensing (MUSES) platform developed by TBE. This platform can accommodate up to four Earth observation instruments. DESIS will be moved into space through the airlock of the Japanese Experiment Module (JEM). It will then be installed on the MUSES platform using the Canadian robot arm CANADARM2. Installation will take one day, and will be followed by commissioning, which includes a system check and a pointing calibration test for sites on Earth.

Hundreds of spectral channels for environment monitoring

DESIS is a hyperspectral sensor system with 235 closely spaced channels that are able to record image data from the visible and near-infrared regions of the spectrum (between 400 and 1000 nanometres). It has a surface resolution of 30 metres from the ISS orbit at an altitude of 400 kilometres. This data reveals changes in the ecosystems on Earth's surface. Scientists can use the information acquired in this way to assess the condition of forests or farmlands and forecast their yield. Another purpose of DESIS is to secure and improve global food production.

Once DESIS is installed, DLR will become the first user of MUSES, which was positioned on board the ISS in 2017, transforming the space station into a universal instrument platform. From their position on the ISS, DESIS and MUSES can point forwards, backwards and to the sides, allowing the instrument to respond with outstanding agility. This enables an excellent degree of flexibility in response to environmental disasters or humanitarian crises through the rapid supply of information to emergency services. Based on the mission design, DESIS can be brought back to Earth after a service life of five to eight years, which will allow scientists to analyse the effects of the space environment on remote sensing instruments. DLR and TBE plan to combine the data from future MUSES instruments to continue improving Earth observation in general and hyperspectral sensor systems in particular. Collaboration within this scientific and commercial framework will contribute to hyperspectral remote sensing technologies for future satellite missions as well.

  • The goals of the mission

    DESIS is designed to provide hyperspectral data to support scientific, humanitarian and commercial goals. This data will enable assessment of the situation after environmental disasters, assist farmers in the targeted management of their land, and serve scientists as a basis for the development of novel atmospheric correction algorithms. Hyperspectral data from DESIS will enable DLR to develop new Earth observation applications, for example for resource exploration or precision farming. Humanitarian aid applications can also be improved with DESIS data. DESIS will also enable the further development of hyperspectral applications and technologies. The new research opportunities relate to monitoring the global ecosystem, resource monitoring and exploration, and improving response to humanitarian crises.

Last modified:
29/06/2018 15:50:14

Contacts

 

Andreas Schütz
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Head of Media Relations department, DLR spokesperson

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2474

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Uwe Knodt
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Strategic Services, Head of Department

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2857
Dr. rer. nat. David Krutz
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space Instruments

Tel.: +49 30 67055-613
Rupert Müller
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Photogrammetry and Image Analysis

Tel.: +49 81 53282-758

Fax: +49 81 53281-444

Raumfahrt

Hyperspektrales Erdbeobachtungsinstrument DESIS startet zur ISS

Freitag, 29. Juni 2018

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Hyperspektrales Sensorsystem

    DESIS erfasst Bilddaten auf 235 eng nebeneinander liegenden Kanälen vom visuellen bis zum infraroten Spektrum (zwischen 400 und 1000 Nanometer).

  • DESIS %2d Hyperspektrales Erdbeobachtungsinstrument auf der ISS
    DESIS - Hyperspektrales Erdbeobachtungsinstrument auf der ISS

    Das Umwelt- und Ressourcenmonitoring-System DESIS (DLR Earth Sensing Imaging System Spectrometers) wird ein breites Spektrum an Daten zur Erde senden.

  • Das Spektrometer DESIS ist erfolgreich von Cape Canaveral mit einer SpaceX Falcon9 Rakete zur ISS gestartet.
  • DESIS wird auf der Instrumentenplattform MUSES instrallliert, von wo aus es die Erde beobachten und hyperspektrale Daten zur Unterstützung wissenschaftlicher, humanitärer und kommerzieller Ziele liefern wird.
  • Schwerpunkt(e): Erdbeobachtung, Raumfahrt

Am 29. Juni 2018 um 5:43 Uhr Ostküstenzeit (EDT) ist das Umwelt- und Ressourcenmonitoringsystem DESIS des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) erfolgreich zur Internationalen Raumstation ISS gestartet. Der Start erfolgte von Cape Canaveral mit einer SpaceX Falcon9 Rakete.  Das Hyperspektralinstrument DESIS (DLR Earth Sensing Spectromenter) wurde zur Überwachung von Umwelt und Ressourcen der Erde vom DLR-Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme in Kooperation mit dem US-amerikanischen Unternehmen Teledyne Brown Engineering (TBE) entwickelt.

An Bord der ISS wird das Instrument ausgepackt und für seine Installation auf der MUSES–Plattform (Multiple User System for Earth Sensing) der Firma Teledyne vorbereitet. Dieses Multiplattformsystem kann bis zu vier Erdbeobachtungsinstrumente aufnehmen. Für die Installation auf MUSES wird DESIS mit dem japanischen Einzelmodul JEM (Japanese Experiment Module) in den Weltraum gebracht und durch den kanadischen Roboterarm CANADARM2 auf der Plattform installiert. Die Installation dauert einen Tag. Danach beginnt die Inbetriebnahme mit einem Systemcheck und einem Testlauf der sogenannten Pointing-Unit, die das Instrument so bewegt, dass es ein definiertes Gebiet auf der Erde aufnimmt.

Hunderte Spektralkanäle für die Umweltüberwachung

DESIS ist ein hyperspektrales Sensorsystem. Im 400-km-Orbit der ISS kann es mit seinen 235 eng nebeneinander liegenden Kanälen Bilddaten vom sichtbaren bis zum infraroten Spektrum - zwischen 400 und 1000 Nanometer - mit einer Oberflächenauflösung von 30 Metern aufnehmen. Diese Daten zeigen Veränderungen im Ökosystem der Erdoberfläche an. Anhand der gewonnenen Informationen können Wissenschaftler den Gesundheitszustand von Wäldern oder landwirtschaftlichen Flächen beurteilen und somit Ertragsprognosen treffen. Ein weiterer Zweck von DESIS ist die Sicherung und Verbesserung des weltweiten Nahrungsmittelanbaus.

Mit DESIS auf der Internationalen Raumstation ISS wird das DLR zum ersten Nutzer des Multiplattformsystems MUSES, das 2017 an Bord der ISS installiert wurde. Damit wird die ISS zu einer universellen Instrumentenplattform. DESIS und MUSES zusammen können von der ISS aus nach vorne, hinten und zur Seite schauen, wodurch das Instrument sehr agil reagieren kann. Im Fall von Umweltkatastrophen oder humanitären Krisen ermöglicht es dieser hohe Agilitätsgrad, Rettungskräfte schnell mit Informationen zu versorgen. Aufgrund der Auslegung dieser Mission kann DESIS nach einer Lebensdauer von fünf bis acht Jahren wieder auf die Erde zurückgebracht werden, um die Auswirkungen der Umwelteinflüsse des Weltraums auf die Fernerkundungsinstrumente zu untersuchen. DLR und TBE wollen die Daten zukünftiger MUSES-Instrumente kombinieren und so die Erdbeobachtung und insbesondere die hyperspektrale Sensorik weiter verbessern. Die Zusammenarbeit in diesem wissenschaftlichen und kommerziellen Betrieb trägt daher auch in Zukunft zu hyperspektralen Fernerkundungstechnologien für Satellitenmissionen bei.

  • Die Ziele der Mission

    DESIS soll hyperspektrale Daten zur Unterstützung wissenschaftlicher, humanitärer und kommerzieller Ziele liefern. Diese enthalten Informationen, um die Lage nach Umweltkatastrophen zu bewerten, unterstützen Landwirte bei der zielgerichteten Bewirtschaftung ihrer Flächen und dienen Wissenschaftlern als Basis für die Entwicklung neuartiger Algorithmen zur Atmosphärenkorrektur. Hyperspektrale Daten von DESIS werden das DLR befähigen, neue Erdbeobachtungsanwendungen, beispielsweise zur Rohstoffsuche oder für die Präzisionslandwirtschaft, zu entwickeln. Auch Anwendungen zur humanitären Hilfe können durch DESIS-Daten verbessert werden. DESIS wird außerdem die weitere Entwicklung hyperspektraler Anwendungen und Technologien verbessern. Die neuen Forschungsmöglichkeiten beziehen sich auf das Monitoring des globalen Ökosystems, Ressourcenmonitoring und die Suche nach Ressourcen sowie eine Verbesserung der Reaktion auf humanitäre Krisen.

Zuletzt geändert am:
29.06.2018 13:56:06 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Andreas Schütz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Leitung Media Relations, Pressesprecher

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2474

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Uwe Knodt
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Strategische Services, Abteilungsleiter

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2857
Dr. rer. nat. David Krutz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Weltrauminstrumente

Tel.: +49 30 67055-613
Rupert Müller
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Photogrammetrie und Bildanalyse

Tel.: +49 81 53282-758

Fax: +49 81 53281-444