The DLR site in Braunschweig

Total Airport Management in the DLR Airport and Control Center Simulator

Collaboratively overcoming airport crises more quickly

08 February 2019

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Versuchskampagne im DLR%2dLeitstand
    Test campaign in the DLR Airport and Control Center Simulator

    Rescheduling ground handling operations.

  • DLR%2dLeitstandsimulation
    DLR Airport and Control Center Simulator

    Direct interaction between key partners to find collaborative solutions for the operation of airports.

  • Versuchskampagne im DLR%2dLeitstand
    Test campaign in the DLR Airport and Control Center Simulator

    Representatives of all participating bodies in the joint airport control centre. A large dashboard provides them with key information about the current situation.

  • In the Total Airport Management project, DLR and partners are working to ensure airports operate smoothly during severe weather events
  • Focus: Aviation, airport management

The onset of winter at the airport – heavy snowfall is forecast, so restricted operations can be expected for several hours. To ensure that the processes continue to run smoothly even during severe weather events in winter, close coordination and cooperation between all key players at the airport are essential. The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, DLR) and its partners in the European Total Airport Management (TAM) project have simulated an emergency in order to study new collaborative processes and tools.

"In future, we want to not only respond better to unexpected airport challenges that negatively affect the smooth flow of air traffic, but also to deal with them proactively on a cooperative basis," says Florian Piekert from the DLR Institute of Flight Guidance, explaining the project's objectives. "In this way, we can act in a more flexible manner, make simpler decisions and return flight operations to normal more quickly."

Simulation in the DLR Control Center

One of the project's highlights came at the beginning of 2019, when an extensive test campaign was conducted in the DLR Airport and Control Center Simulator. Representatives from airports, air traffic control services, airlines and ground handling companies took part in several real-time simulations in which events at Oslo Airport were realistically recreated. In the process, a number of new and dedicated planning tools were used collaboratively for the first time and supported the individual parties participating in the cooperation.

As an example of how this could work in practice – as soon as heavy snowfall is forecast, a future airport control centre, the Airport Operations Center (APOC), would receive an appropriate warning. In the APOC, representatives of all parties would sit together in the same area. The APOC supervisor would inform all participants whose work and cooperation are particularly important, such as airlines, air traffic controllers and ground handling companies. Each party would check to see what effects the event will have on their area and then report this back to the APOC. The whole situation would be assessed and a joint solution would be found through a direct exchange of ideas.

"The APOC is the central control room of a larger airport in which all the companies involved jointly determine which strategy should be used to overcome anticipated problem situations," Piekert explains. "The tests provided the guests from Oslo with the opportunity to develop their planned APOC in a much more targeted manner and therefore to be even better prepared for future operational challenges."

The Control Center Simulator and the DLR Institute of Flight Guidance's Airport Management Simulation Platform – which allows the testing of new concepts and systems for airports without disrupting the regular operations of an airport – served as the basis for the test campaign. The new planning tools used in the airport management campaign were developed by the European air traffic controller organisation EUROCONTROL, the companies Leonardo and SINTEF, and the Polish air traffic control organisation PANSA, in collaboration with the University of Warsaw and DLR.

The TAM project will run until the end of 2019. During this time, the solutions will be refined and validated so they can be implemented as soon as possible for the operation of European airports after the project's completion.

This project receives funding from the SESAR Joint Undertaking as part of Horizon 2020, the European Union's framework programme for research and innovation (Grant No. 733121).

Last modified:
13/02/2019 14:06:33

Contacts

 

Jasmin Begli
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications, Braunschweig

Tel.: +49 531 295-2108

Fax: +49 531 295-12100
Florian Piekert
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Flight Guidance

Tel.: +49 531 295-3010

Der DLR-Standort Braunschweig

Mehr über das DLR

Total Airport Management im DLR-Leitstandsimulator

Krisen am Flughafen gemeinsam schneller bewältigen

Freitag, 8. Februar 2019

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • DLR und Partner arbeiten im Projekt Total Airport Management an reibungslosem Ablauf an Flughäfen bei Starkwetterereignissen.
  • Schwerpunkt(e): Luftfahrt, Flughafenmanagement

Wintereinbruch am Flughafen - es wird starker Schneefall vorhergesagt, so dass für mehrere Stunden mit einem eingeschränkten Betrieb zu rechnen ist. Damit die Prozesse auch bei winterlichen Starkwetterereignissen weiter reibungslos laufen, ist eine enge Abstimmung und Zusammenarbeit aller zentralen Akteure am Flughafen nötig. Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) hat gemeinsam mit Partnern im Rahmen des europäischen Projekts Total Airport Management (TAM) den Ernstfall simuliert, um neue Kooperationsprozesse und -werkzeuge zu untersuchen.

"Zukünftig wollen wir an Flughäfen auf unvorhergesehene Herausforderungen, die den reibungslosen Ablauf des Flugverkehrs negativ beeinflussen, nicht nur besser reagieren, sondern sie gemeinsam proaktiv behandeln", erklärt Florian Piekert vom DLR-Institut für Flugführung die Ziele des Projekts. "So können wir flexibler handeln, einfacher Entscheidungen treffen und den Flugbetrieb schneller wieder in den Normalzustand bringen."

Simulation im DLR-Leitstand

Einer der Höhepunkte des Projekts war Anfang 2019 eine umfangreiche Versuchskampagne im DLR-Leitstandsimulator für Flughäfen. Vertreter von Flughäfen, Flugsicherungen, Fluggesellschaften und Bodenabfertigern nahmen an mehreren Echtzeitsimulationen teil, in denen das Geschehen am Flughafen Oslo realistisch nachgebildet wurde. Dabei kamen eine Reihe neuer, spezifischer Planungswerkzeuge erstmals gemeinsam zum Einsatz und unterstützen die einzelnen beteiligten Parteien bei der Zusammenarbeit.

In der Praxis könnte es in Zukunft so aussehen: sobald beispielsweise ein starker Schneefall vorhergesagt wird, erhält ein zukünftiger Flughafenleitstand, das Airport Operations Center (APOC), die entsprechende Warnung. Im APOC sitzen Vertreter aller Akteure räumlich zusammen. Der APOC-Supervisor informiert alle Beteiligten, auf deren Arbeit und Kooperation es nun besonders ankommt. Dazu gehören beispielsweise die Fluglinien, die Flugsicherung und die Bodenabfertigungsfirmen. Jede Partei überprüft für sich, welche Auswirkungen das Ereignis auf ihren Bereich hat und meldet dies an den APOC zurück. Die Gesamtsituation wird bewertet und im direkten Austausch eine gemeinsame Lösung gefunden.

"Der APOC ist die zentrale Schaltstelle eines größeres Flughafens, in dem gemeinsam zwischen allen beteiligten Unternehmen festgelegt wird, mit welcher Strategie zu erwartende Problemsituationen bewältigt werden sollen. Die Versuche gaben den Gästen aus Oslo die Möglichkeit, ihren geplanten APOC wesentlich zielgerichteter auszugestalten und somit noch besser auf zukünftige operationelle Herausforderungen vorbereitet zu sein", erklärt Piekert.

Als Basis der Versuchskampagne dienten der Leitstandsimulator sowie die Simulationsplattform für das Flughafenmanagement des DLR-Instituts für Flugführung, die das Testen neuer Konzepte und Systeme für Flughäfen erlaubt, ohne den regulären Betrieb eines Flughafens zu stören. Die in der Kampagne angewendeten, neuen Planungswerkzeuge für das Flughafenmanagement wurden von der europäischen Flugsicherung EUROCONTROL, den Firmen LEONARDO und SINTEF, der polnischen Flugsicherung PANSA in Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Warschau sowie dem DLR entwickelt.

Das TAM-Projekt läuft noch bis Ende 2019, bis dahin werden die Lösungen weiter entwickelt und validiert, so dass sie nach dem Abschluss des Projekts möglichst schnell im operationellen Betrieb von Flughäfen in Europa zum Einsatz kommen können.

Dieses Projekt erhält Fördermittel vom SESAR Joint Undertaking innerhalb des Programms Horizon 2020, dem Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und Innovation der Europäischen Union (Fördernummer 733121).

Zuletzt geändert am:
08.02.2019 09:30:24 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Jasmin Begli
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Braunschweig

Tel.: +49 531 295-2108

Fax: +49 531 295-2102
Florian Piekert
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Flugführung

Tel.: +49 531 295-3010