Integration and Test Centre for Virtual Certification

Virtual Product House

Integration and Test Centre for Virtual Certification

Credit: DLR (CC-BY 3.0)

 

With the Virtual Product House (VPH) in Bremen, DLR is pursuing the goal of closely cooperating with industry partners, the scientific community and public authorities to implement an integration and test centre for the virtual simulation and certification of components and technologies, as well as their integration into the overall aircraft. The VPH is funded through a start-up project by the State of Bremen and the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).

Embedding of the Virtual Product House into DLR’s Strategy for the ‘Digitalisation of Aviation’

Together with four recently founded institutes, the VPH is an integral part of the DLR aeronautics research strategy for the ‘digitalisation of aviation’.

It is intended to serve as a dynamic and flexible network platform, where various DLR institutes work together with partners to pursue the ambitious goals of virtual design, testing and certification. The DLR virtual certification strategy aims to reduce the duration and cost of certification tests by using complementary virtual (that is, simulation-based) flight and ground tests, leading up to a complete virtual certification process as a long-term goal. This long-term vision is part of the virtual product as one of the guiding concepts of the DLR aeronautics programme. It intends to virtually represent the aircraft with all its characteristics over the entire lifecycle. Therefore, a multiphysics, multiscale and multifidelity approach is required to closely link design and flight physics capabilities with virtual testing, production and operations.

Field of research:

- Virtual (aircraft/wing/movables) design
- Virtual (systems and structural) testing and certification
- Virtual production and manufacturing
- Software engineering and integration

VPH Partner Landscape

The Virtual Product House as an integration platform is based on interdisciplinary engineering and software teams and a flexible partner network. As such, several DLR institutes with expertise in various disciplines (for example, aerodynamics, structures, systems, software and simulation) work together at the VPH in Bremen in a collaborative way. The activities of the VPH are also closely linked to the research topics of the newly founded DLR institutes and are embedded into DLR’s strategy for the ‘digitalisation of aeronautics’.

A key objective and strength of the VPH is its close cooperation with the aviation industry. The following industry partners are participating in the VPH start-up project:

- Airbus Operations
- Liebherr Aerospace
- IABG
- FFT Produktionssysteme

The VPH also cooperates with universities (for example, the University of Bremen), certification authorities (for example, EASA) and the software industry (for example, SAP) to address the ambitious goals for virtual certification.

Address

ECOMAT - Center for Eco-efficient Materials and Technologies
Cornelius-Edzard-Straße 15
28199 Bremen

Contact

Kristof Risse
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Programme Directorate Aviation

Tel.: +49 531 295-2491

Integrations- und Testzentrum für virtuelle Zulassung

Virtual Product House

Integrations- und Testzentrum für virtuelle Zulassung

Credit: DLR (CC-BY 3.0)

 

Mit dem Virtual Product House (VPH) in Bremen verfolgt das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) das Ziel, in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Industriepartnern, Wissenschaft und Behörden ein Integrations- und Testzentrum für die virtuelle Simulation und Zulassung von Komponenten und Technologien sowie deren Integration in das Gesamtflugzeug aufzubauen. Das VPH beginnt mit einem Startprojekt, das durch das Land Bremen und den Europäischen Fonds für Regionale Entwicklung (ERFE) gefördert wird.
 

Einbettung des Virtual Product House in die DLR-Strategie zur "Digitalisierung der Luftfahrt"

Zusammen mit vier neu gegründeten Instituten ist das VPH integraler Bestandteil der DLR-Luftfahrtforschungsstrategie zur "Digitalisierung der Luftfahrt".

Das VPH ist als dynamische und flexible Netzwerkplattform aufgesetzt, auf der verschiedene DLR-Institute gemeinsam mit Partnern zusammenarbeiten, um die ehrgeizigen Ziele im Bereich virtueller Entwurf, virtuelles Testen und virtuelle Zulassung zu erreichen. Die DLR-Strategie zur virtuellen Zulassung zielt darauf ab, Zeit und Kosten für Zulassungsversuche durch ergänzende virtuelle Flug- und Bodentests zu reduzieren, bis hin zu einem vollständig simulationsbasierten Zulassungsverfahren als langfristige Vision. Diese langfristige Vision ist auch Teil des virtuellen Produkts als eines der Leitkonzepte des DLR-Luftfahrtprogramms. Es umfasst die virtuelle Abbildung des Flugzeugs mit all seinen Eigenschaften und Komponenten entlang seines gesamten Lebenszyklus. Hierfür ist ein multidisziplinärer und mehrskaliger Ansatz - vom Gesamtflugzeug bis zur Kleinstkomponente - erforderlich, um wie etwa im VPH den virtuellen Flugzeugentwurf durchgängig mit Verfahren der virtuellen Fertigung und des virtuellen Testens zu verknüpfen.
 

Forschungsthemen des Virtual Product House

- Virtueller Entwurf
- Virtuelle (System-/Struktur-) Tests und virtuelle Zulassung
- Virtuelle Fertigung
- Softwareentwicklung und -integration
 

Das VPH-Partnernetzwerk

Das Virtual Product House (VPH) basiert als Integrationsplattform auf interdisziplinären Ingenieur- und Software-Teams und einem flexiblen Partnernetzwerk. So arbeiten im VPH Experten aus verschiedenen DLR-Instituten und Fachdisziplinen (z. B. Aerodynamik, Struktur, Systeme, Software und Simulation) zusammen. Zudem sind die VPH-Aktivitäten eng mit den Forschungsthemen der neu gegründeten DLR-Institute verknüpft und in die DLR-Strategie zur "Digitalisierung der Luftfahrt" eingebettet.

Eine wichtige Stärke des VPH ist auch die enge Zusammenarbeit mit den Partnern der Luftfahrtindustrie. Am Startprojekt des VPH sind die folgenden Industriepartner beteiligt:

- Airbus Operations (Bremen)
- Liebherr Aerospace
- IABG
- FFT Produktionssysteme

Das VPH arbeitet außerdem eng mit Universitäten (z. B. der Universität Bremen), den Zulassungsbehörden (z. B. der EASA) und der Softwareindustrie (z. B. SAP) zusammen, um die anspruchsvollen Ziele der "virtuellen Zulassung" gemeinsam zu adressieren.
 

Anschrift

ECOMAT - Center for Eco-efficient Materials & Technologies
Cornelius-Edzard-Straße 15
28199 Bremen

 

Kontakt

Dr.-Ing. Kristof Risse
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Programmdirektion Luftfahrt
Leiter Virtual Product House (VPH) & Koordinator Digitalisierung Luftfahrt

Tel.: +49 531 295-2491