Bookmark
PhD position

Control Design Methodologies for the Design and the Validation of Advanced Load Alleviation Function

Starting date

immediately

Duration of contract

3,75 years

Remuneration

According to the German TVöD 13

Type of employment

Full-time

"Cutting-edge research requires excellent minds – particularly more females – at all levels. Launch your mission with us and send in your application now!" Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

Your mission:

The Cluster of Excellence SE²A - Sustainable and Energy Efficient Aviation is a DFG-funded interdisciplinary research center investigating technologies for a sustainable and eco-friendly air transport system. Scientists from engineering, economics, chemistry and biology are working on the reduction of drag, emissions and noise, life-cycle concepts for airframes, improvements in air traffic management and new technologies for energy storage and conversion. Technische Universität Braunschweig, the German Aerospace Center (DLR), Leibniz University Hannover (LUH), the Braunschweig University of Art (HBK) and the National Metrology Institute of Germany (PTB) have joined forces in this extraordinary scientific untertaking. The overall project is structured into the three core research areas “Assessment of the Air Transport System”, “Flight Physics and Vehicle Systems” and “Energy Storage & Conversion”. (www.tu-braunschweig.de/se2a)

The position is located in Braunschweig at the DLR Institute of Flight Systems (https://www.dlr.de/ft/en/), in the department Flight Dynamics and Simulation. This department investigates all topics related to the flight mechanics, flight control, and assessment of existing and novel aircraft configurations. In the framework of the SE2A cluster, a new research group (composed of 7 to 8 PhD candidates, a young researcher as well as the PhD advisors) is being created and shall investigate a series of technologies aiming at enabling significant structural weight reductions for future aircraft. These technologies encompass new structural designs, fluidic actuators for lift redistribution, as well as sensing and control techniques.

The PhD candidate will investigate robust control design methodologies for the design and the validation of active load alleviation controllers, leveraging the new technologies developed by the other PhD candidates of the group, the prior works from the involved organizations (e.g. on Doppler LIDAR sensors). Within the research group, the PhD candidate will also make significant contributions to the system engineering investigations (e.g. determination of the best combinations of these technologies for a given target aircraft).

The research group as well as the department Flight Dynamics and Simulation, which the PhD candidate will be part of, strongly rely on the close cooperation, exchange, and support between the employees from different background and disciplines. This contributes to a particularly attractive and interesting work environment in which young scientists can thrive.

Your qualifications:

  • MSc. in aeronautics, mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, or similar
  • good knowledge in control/system theory and in the simulation of dynamic systems
  • experience in at least one programming language
  • high English proficiency
  • some knowledge in flight mechanics and flight control
  • experience with at least one object-oriented or functional programming language is an advantage
  • prior experience with C++ and with MATLAB/Simulink desirable
  • high German proficiency is an advantage

Your benefits:

Look forward to a fulfilling job with an employer who appreciates your commitment and supports your personal and professional development. Our unique infrastructure offers you a working environment in which you have unparalled scope to develop your creative ideas and accomplish your professional objectives. Our human resources policy places great value on a healthy family and work-life-balance as well as equal opportunities for persons of all genders (m/f/non-binary). Individuals with disabilities will be given preferential consideration in the event their qualifications are equivalent to those of other candidates.

  • Apply online now
  • You can send this job advertisement via e-mail and complete your application on a personal computer or laptop.

    We need your digital application documents (PDF). The document upload function is not supported by all mobile devices. Please complete your application on a PC/laptop.

    Complete application on PC

Technical contact

Dr.-Ing. Nicolas Fezans
Institute of Flight Systems

Phone: +49 531 295-2653

Send message

Vacancy 36987

HR department Braunschweig

Send message

DLR site Braunschweig

To location

DLR Institute of Flight Systems

To institute

Bookmark
Promotion

Entwicklung von Regelungsmethoden für Design und Bewertung moderner Lastabminderungsfunktionen

Beginn

ab sofort

Dauer

3,75 Jahre

Vergütung

Entgeltgruppe 13 TVöD

Beschäftigungsgrad

Vollzeit

"Spitzenforschung braucht auf allen Ebenen exzellente Köpfe - besonders noch mehr weibliche! Starten Sie bei uns, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung" Ihre Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Das Exzellenzcluster SE²A - Sustainable and Energy Efficient Aviation ist ein von der DFG gefördertes interdisziplinäres Forschungsvorhaben mit dem Ziel, Technologien für die nachhaltige und umweltverträgliche Entwicklung des Luftverkehrs zu erforschen. In dem Cluster arbeiten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Luftfahrt, Elektrotechnik, Energie, Chemie und Design an der Senkung von Emissionen, der Verringerung der Lärmbelastung, der Recyclingfähigkeit von Lufttransportsystemen sowie der Weiterentwicklung des Luftverkehrs-Managements. An SE²A sind neben der TU Braunschweig das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), die Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH), die Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig (HBK) und die Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) auf der Grundlage von Kooperationsverträgen beteiligt. Das Gesamtprojekt ist aufgeteilt in drei Hauptforschungsbereiche „Bewertung des Lufttransportsystems“, „Flugphysik und Systeme“ und „Energiespeicherung und Umwandlung“. (www.tu-braunschweig.de/se2a)

Die Stelle wird besetzt im DLR im Institut für Flugsystemtechnik in Braunschweig (https://www.dlr.de/ft/) in der Abteilung Flugdynamik und Simulation. Die Abteilung beschäftigt sich mit vielen wissenschaftlichen Themen in den Bereichen Flugmechanik, Flugregelung und der Bewertung von existierenden oder neuen Flugzeugkonfigurationen. Im Rahmen des SE2A Exzellenzclusters entsteht eine neue Forschungsgruppe, die sich mit einer Reihe neuer Technologien zur signifikanten Reduzierung des Strukturgewichts zukünftiger Flugzeuge beschäftigen wird. Diese Technologien beinhalten neue Strukturdesigns, Strömungsbeeinflussung zur Umverteilung des Auftriebs sowie neue Sensoren und Regelungsmethoden.

Im Rahmen der Promotion sollen in Zusammenarbeit mit den anderen Technologieentwicklungen der Forschungsgruppe und auf Basis vorheriger Arbeiten der beteiligten Institute robuste Regelungsmethoden für Design und Validierung von aktiven Lastabminderungsreglern untersucht werden. Innerhalb der Forschungsgruppe wird die Promotionsarbeit außerdem wichtige Beiträge zu systemtechnischen Fragestellungen liefern, d.h. die Ermittlung der besten Kombinationen verschiedener Technologien für eine bestimmte Flugzeug Zielkonfiguration.

Die SE²A Forschungsgruppe ebenso wie unsere Abteilung Flugdynamik und Simulation leben von der engen Zusammenarbeit zwischen Mitarbeitenden unterschiedlicher Fachbereiche und Kompetenzen, die sich gegenseitig ergänzen und unterstützen. Dementsprechend bieten wir eine besonders attraktive und interessante Arbeitsatmosphäre mit abwechslungsreichen wissenschaftlichen Entfaltungsmöglichkeiten.

Ihre Qualifikation:

  • abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Hochschulstudium (Diplom oder Master) im Studiengang Maschinenbau, Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik, Elektrotechnik oder vergleichbarer Fachrichtungen
  • gute Kenntnisse in der Regelungstechnik, Systemtheorie und der Simulation dynamischer Systeme
  • Erfahrung mit zumindest einer Programmiersprache
  • sehr gute Englischkenntnisse in Wort und Schrift
  • Kenntnisse im Bereich der Flugmechanik und Flugregelung
  • Erfahrung mit objektorientierten oder funktionalen Programmiersprachen (C++ von Vorteil) gewünscht
  • Erfahrung mit MATLAB/Simulink® wünschenswert
  • sehr gute Deutschkenntnisse in Wort und Schrift von Vorteil

Ihr Start:

Freuen Sie sich auf einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihr Engagement zu schätzen weiß und Ihre Entwicklung durch vielfältige Qualifizierungs- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten fördert. Unser einzigartiges Arbeitsumfeld bietet Ihnen Gestaltungsfreiräume und eine unvergleichbare Infrastruktur, in der Sie Ihre Mission verwirklichen können. Vereinbarkeit von Privatleben, Familie und Beruf sowie Chancengleichheit von Personen aller Geschlechter (m/w/d) sind wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Bewerbungen schwerbehinderter Menschen bevorzugen wir bei fachlicher Eignung.

  • Jetzt online bewerben
  • Sie können sich diese Stellenanzeige per E-Mail zusenden und Ihre Bewerbung am stationären Computer oder Laptop erstellen.

    Wir benötigen Ihre digitalen Bewerbungsunterlagen (PDF). Die Übermittlung wird von einigen Mobilgeräten nicht standardmäßig unterstützt. Bitte erstellen Sie Ihre Bewerbung an einem PC/Laptop.

    Bewerbung am PC erstellen

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Dr.-Ing. Nicolas Fezans
Institut für Flugsystemtechnik

Tel.: +49 531 295-2653

Nachricht senden

Kennziffer 36987

Personalbetreuung Braunschweig

Nachricht senden

DLR-Standort Braunschweig

zum Standort

DLR-Institut für Flugsystemtechnik

zum Institut