6 questions, 7 answers

“My job is to model and simulate power grids”

Name: Dorothee Peters
Field of study: Engineering physics
Now: Institute of Networked Energy Systems


Dorothee Peters studied engineering physics. She joined DLR in 2015 while completing her master’s degree and is now a member of the scientific staff at the Institute of Networked Energy Systems in Oldenburg, where she works in the Department of Energy Systems Technology. She talks about her work in this interview.

 

1. Dorothee, what do you look forward to when coming to work in the morning?

I look forward to conducting my own research in such a fascinating field. Within the project parameters I can develop and address research questions that interest me. Apart from that, I really appreciate the flexible worktime at the institute.
 

2. What are you researching or working on?

The institute develops technologies and concepts for our future energy supply that are built on renewable energy sources. My work involves modelling and simulating power grids. As part of the ENERA project, for instance, I am currently investigating the power grid in the northwest of Germany. The primary objective is to integrate renewable energy sources and to give producers and consumers more flexibility, in order to increase the stability of the power grid. To do this, I use different types of software, such as PowerFactory and programme my own models.
 


„The primary objective is to integrate renewable energy sources and to give producers and consumers more flexibility, in order to increase the stability of the power grid“



3. What does your typical working day involve?

Once we have formulated a research question, we come up with simulation scenarios that can give us answers. It always works best to discuss issues with colleagues who are working on related topics. The next step is to adjust the current grid and system models or to create new ones, to perform the simulations. When it’s time to analyse the results, I again meet with colleagues or project partners from other research institutes to discuss the findings. Depending on the stage of my research, there are days when I concentrate almost exclusively on programming, while others are spent sharing ideas and views with my colleagues.
 

4. Where and how is your work being used?

The results of the project I am currently working on can be used  to predict bottlenecks in the power grid, to analyse the efficiency of flexible systems or storage technology, for example. We also discuss our findings with power grid operators who can integrate the results of our research within their grid planning or operation management.
 

5. What are the highlights of your work?

Publishing a paper or attending a conference, definitely. These things really show me the relevance of my work, especially when I can talk with scientists from my field. The smaller highlights are when a simulation runs without a hitch, of course.
 


„I enjoy the friendly atmosphere at the institute and truly appreciate the supportive spirit among my colleagues“



6. What special skills can you make good use of in your job?

My ability to cope with frustration comes in particularly handy when working with highly specialised programs and their features (quirks). Thankfully, several of my colleagues work with the same programs, so we can help and motivate each other.
 

7. Leave us a final thought.

I enjoy the friendly atmosphere at the institute and truly appreciate the supportive spirit among my colleagues. I also like meeting many intelligent and interesting people as part of my work in science.

Information for applicants

Links

Downloads

Contacts

DLR Institute of Networked Energy Systems

To institute

6 Fragen, 7 Antworten

„Meine Aufgabe ist die Modellierung und Simulation von Stromnetzen“

Name: Dorothee Peters
Studium: Engineering Physics
Jetzt: Institut für Vernetzte Energiesysteme


Dorothee Peters hat Engineering Physics studiert. Sie kam 2015 als Masterandin zum DLR und arbeitet jetzt als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Institut für Vernetzte Energiesysteme in Oldenburg in der Abteilung Energiesystemtechnologie. Im Interview erzählt sie von ihrer Arbeit.

 

1. Dorothee, worauf freust du dich, wenn du morgens zur Arbeit kommst?

Ich freue mich darauf, selbstbestimmt in einem interessanten Themengebiet zu forschen. Innerhalb der Projektziele kann ich selbst Forschungsfragen entwickeln und bearbeiten. Außerdem schätze ich die flexiblen Arbeitszeiten am Institut.
 

2. Woran forschst oder arbeitest du?

Das Institut erarbeitet Technologien und Konzepte für die zukünftige Energieversorgung auf Basis erneuerbarer Energien. Meine Aufgabe ist die Modellierung und Simulation von Stromnetzen. Derzeit betrachte ich innerhalb des Projektes ENERA das Stromnetz im Nordwesten Deutschlands. Das übergreifende Ziel ist die Integration von erneuerbaren Energien und die Flexibilisierung von Erzeugern und Verbrauchern, um so die Stabilität des Stromnetzes zu unterstützen. Dabei verwende ich verschiedene Netzberechnungssoftware wie PowerFactory und programmiere selbst Modelle.
 


„Das übergreifende Ziel ist die Integration von erneuerbaren Energien und die Flexibilisierung von Erzeugern und Verbrauchern“



3. Wie sieht dein typischer Arbeitstag aus?

Nach der Entwicklung einer Forschungsfrage legen wir Simulationsszenarien fest, um die Frage zu beantworten. Das funktioniert am besten in Diskussion mit den Kolleginnen und Kollegen, die an verwandten Themen arbeiten. Dann müssen die vorhandenen Netz- und Anlagenmodelle angepasst oder neue erstellt werden, um die Simulationen durchzuführen. Um die Ergebnisse auszuwerten, treffe ich mich dann oft wieder mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen oder Projektpartnern von anderen Forschungsinstituten oder Industriepartnern und wir beraten gemeinsam. Je nach Phase meiner Untersuchungen gibt es dann Tage, an denen ich fast ausschließlich konzentriert programmiere, und andere Tage, an denen ich mich viel mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen austausche.
 

4. Wo und wie können deine Forschungsergebnisse/deine Arbeit eingesetzt werden?

Innerhalb des Projektes, an dem ich gerade arbeite, könnten meine Ergebnisse z.B. für die Vorhersage von Engpässen im Stromnetz eingesetzt werden, um beispielsweise die Wirtschaftlichkeit von flexiblen Anlagen oder auch Speichertechnologien zu analysieren. Unsere Erkenntnisse diskutieren wir zudem mit verschiedenen Strom-Netzbetreibern, die die Forschungsergebnisse möglicherweise in die Netzplanung oder -betriebsführung einbeziehen.
 

5. Was sind die Höhepunkte deiner Arbeit?

Das Fertigstellen einer Publikation oder auch der Besuch einer Konferenz. Dadurch wird mir die Relevanz meiner Arbeit vor Augen geführt. Besonders, wenn ich mit Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus meinem Fachbereich ins Gespräch komme. Die kleineren Höhepunkte sind natürlich, wenn eine Simulation fehlerfrei durchläuft.
 


„Mir gefallen die freundliche Atmosphäre am Institut und die große Hilfsbereitschaft unter den Kolleginnen und Kollegen“



6. Welche Spezialfähigkeit kannst du hier gut einsetzen?

Insbesondere bei der Arbeit mit sehr spezialisierten Programmen und ihren Features (Macken) kommt meine hohe Frustrationstoleranz zur Geltung. Zum Glück arbeiten mehrere Kollegen damit, so dass wir uns gegenseitig helfen und motivieren können.
 

7. Was ich noch sagen möchte:

Mir gefallen die freundliche Atmosphäre am Institut und die große Hilfsbereitschaft unter den Kolleginnen und Kollegen. Zudem finde ich es gut, dass ich bei der Arbeit in meinem wissenschaftlichen Umfeld mit vielen intelligenten und interessanten Menschen in Kontakt komme.

Bewerberinformation

Links

Downloads

Kontakte

DLR-Institut für Vernetzte Energiesysteme

zum Institut